ARCHIVE 180 – FLOODED FIELD

 

 

flooded-field
.
This image is best viewed enlarged – click onto it to open a larger version in a separate window.

The tips of coarse marsh grasses protruding from floodwater in a field on Tadham Moor; the Somerset Levels; 23 Nov 2012.

I’d had thoughts about cropping in more closely on this image, to better show the grasses, but I’m sticking with this version because I think that the surrounding negative space gives the image “room to breathe” – ie it is not cramped, and it gives more of a sense of the isolation and desolation that the floods have brought.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 200 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

12 Responses to ARCHIVE 180 – FLOODED FIELD

  1. bluebrightly says:

    Breathing room, and context. I always like some context. 🙂

    Like

  2. Meanderer says:

    Ah, one of my favourites. Lovely to see it again.

    Like

  3. Sue Vincent says:

    Love this, Adrian.

    Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    More masterful minimalism. I like that you kept it in color, though it would also surely work very well in monochrome, and I also really like the little ripples in the reflections of the longer grass blades.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, I’m glad you like it – thank you! – and I’m right with you re the reflections of the longer grass blades. Of course this was first posted sometime ago but, to be honest, I can’t recall ever thinking about a mono version – but you may very well be right. If the Raw file is readily to hand, I might try a mono version. Thanks for your thoughts! Adrian

      Like

  5. paula graham says:

    Yes, these scenes make beautiful photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Perfect amount of breathing room. xxx ATP

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

