ARCHIVE 179 – ON HOLIDAY, TOGETHER

 

 

cor_344EXTREMEX
.
A couple strolling over the rocks at St Ives, Cornwall; 27 Sept 2012.

This picture was produced by dragging the midpoint tab on the Levels & Curves chart quite radically to the right, which has had the effect of darkening the image’s darker tones – in fact it has reduced them to black.  The paler tones are relatively unaffected – and I’ve given them a lot of warmth in Capture NX2, to boost their colours.

Reality?  Definitely not!  But do I like it?  Yes!

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO.. .

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to ARCHIVE 179 – ON HOLIDAY, TOGETHER

  1. Helen Cherry says:

    Cranking up the warmth really works !

    Like

  2. paula graham says:

    How odd…I am sure I commented on this photo yesterday…gone again today!!

    Like

  3. karatefoxcub says:

    A beautiful photo never the less

    Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    There’s nothing in that image that wasn’t there when you made it, although you’ve darkened the midrange & shadow values and elevated the effective temperature, so I’d call that as close to “reality” as any reasonable critic might hope for. If all of us showed others only what comes directly out of the camera, we’d be having a pretty dull old time, if you ask me. And do I like it too? You betcha!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, thank you for that endorsement, my friend! And you’re certainly right about the dullness of many straight-out-of-the-camera photos, particularly in the case of Raw images. And I think your point about my not having added anything to the shot an important one too – I simply can’t see myself ever adding any object that was not originally there to any image – maybe I think that doing that is something akin to opening Pandora’s Box, and I shrink from doing it. Adrian

      Like

  5. paula graham says:

    Yea, who cares! I like the two lovers of course and the inclusion of the bird adds a lot. ST Ives is such a dream.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you – yes, who cares? Interesting you should like the bird – I’d thought it a distraction and was wondering about removing it – glad I didn’t! I’d like to live at St Ives. Its near few places of course, being all the way down there; but I’d like to spend a lot of time around that harbour, in those narrow streets, and on that coast.

      Like

  6. Reality isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Hugs from ATP.

    Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

