CHEW LAKE 21 – THE VIEW EAST IN HERONS GREEN BAY (MONO)

 

 

the-view-east-in-herons-green-bay-mono
.

This image is best viewed at larger size: click onto it to have it open in a separate window.

Looking out eastwards across Herons Green Bay, to the low hills that surround Chew Valley Lake, Somerset; 27 July 2011.

I was looking through some old pictures and found this, which has never seen the light of day (or should that be the light of the Net?) before. 

I know the scene well – and especially that dead tree –  but can’t recall taking this at all.  Its most probably been processed in SEP, but I have no record of the details.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro, probably.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

21 Responses to CHEW LAKE 21 – THE VIEW EAST IN HERONS GREEN BAY (MONO)

  1. Malin Ellisdotter H says:

    Stunning. Amazing. Absolutely fantastic!

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Nice, like it. 🙂

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    Wonderful and dramatic, Adrian. I’m pleased you found it.

    Like

  4. fantastic mood Adrian!

    Like

  5. beautiful image, Adrian, simply beautiful.

    Like

  6. krikitarts says:

    Most worthy of bringing to light. I like that the reflection of that wonderful old tree skeleton is softened by the vegetation and the fading of details into the foggy distance. It’s a meditation.

    Like

  7. paula graham says:

    Never mind the (for you) lack of detail…gorgeous picture, love the scene the angle , the reflection and the mood, possibly created by use of a filter

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, I do do detail, don’t I? Relic of a scientific and analytical past – it was all very detailed and very precise! Thank you for your good thoughts about the shot. Its going to be a software filter – I rarely if ever use actual glass filters. I have a couple of polarisers which I OUGHT to use … but I’m rather naughty about doing what I oughty! … 😉 ……

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I think that dead tree is not dead. It’s reaching out for the house!!! I love the reflection and the photo in general. P. S. Don’t fret the lack of recollection. I don’t remember yesterday’s breakfast!
    Hugs. ATP

    Like

  9. …oh, Adrian…this incredible water mirror… beautiful…and the dark tones…and the sense of loneliness…
    (…smiling so much for you…) I hope you are fine!!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

