CORNWALL 82 – ROOK ON THE HIGH STREET

 

IMG_2076X
.

Rook preening on a street lamp in the main street of Penzance; 25 Apr 2012.

We were sitting at a table on the upper floor of a café, enjoying the interesting and lively view over Penzance’s main street.

Two Rooks came and perched on street lamp brackets immediately outside the window.  I had a feeling they wouldn’t stay there long, and so rather than reaching for the Nikon, I used the little G11 which was already in my hand.  One of the Rooks left almost immediately but I managed to train the Canon’s telephoto onto the other bird which, despite all of the hustle and bustle in the street below, started preening.

Rooks are crows, and more usually birds of the open countryside.  I like crows anyway, but noisy colonies of these birds – rookeries – in the tops of tall, rural trees are for me one of the great joys of spring.  So seeing them here above this busy shopping street was a surprise, albeit that Penzance is not that large a town.  And having the bird set against the window display of the shop on the other side of the road added to that.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 140mm (equivalent); 400 ISO.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to CORNWALL 82 – ROOK ON THE HIGH STREET

  1. krikitarts says:

    Great background, great timing, and I love its expression–as if to say: I’ve been preening all day, hoping to catch someone’s attention, and no one has paid any, until you. What’s wrong with everyone else?

    Like

  2. great capture!! such personality!!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Cybele, thank you so much. I love crows and with “personality” you’ve hit the nail right on the head. For crows are thought to be amongst the most intelligent of birds, and I love their garrulous, jaunty natures – it’ll probably never happen, but I’d love to have one perched noisily on my shoulder! Adrian

      Like

  3. Nice strange shot, Adrian; well composed; right moment.

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Nice photo, like the composition..I am afraid I do not share your love of these creatures…too noisy for my liking and the know it and have a habit of serenading me at dawn..5 am..just outside my open window. Grrrrrrrrrrrt

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh come on, that’s part of country life! I sleep badly and get annoyed by any noise that disturbs me still further but I don’t THINK I mind bird noise – like the gulls coming in over Bristol at dawn. I remember going to sleep on one of the Pembrokeshire islands with the night air filled with Manx Shearwater calls, that was sheer magic. Anyway, the year is changing, the day after tomorrow there’ll be an “r” in the month, so dawn will be getting later. Returning from Kenya, where days are of around 12 hours’ duration all year, I had trouble at first with our long winter nights and days of dreary light, but I’m accustomed again now, and like all the seasons. A

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

