SOMERSET LEVELS 237 – RED STRING IN THE MORNING (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

Red string in the morning
.

This image is best viewed enlarged – click onto it to see a larger version in a separate window.

Tadham Moor, looking east on a summer’s morning; 27 Aug 2014.

Crouching down low, just above the tops of the grass, and seeing the world through a 12mm lens – seeing far more at one time than the unaided human eye can ever see sharply.

I’m  at the southern end of Jack’s Drove, where it meets another little back road, which is just out of view behind the tall grasses on the right – this other road, Totney Drove, runs on eastwards, between the two tall trees in the distance.

Instead of using fences, the damp fields around here are bounded by water-filled ditches.  Covered in floating water plants, the ditch bordering Totney Drove catches the light as it heads towards the two trees, while the one bordering Jack’s Drove is in shadow, at bottom left.

The soil here is very loose and wet and, on the corner of these two little back roads, there have been worries that the roads’ thin tarmac may give way under the weight of passing vehicles and slide down into the wet ditches, and so sheets of corrugated iron (visible lower right) have been driven into the soft ground, to try to prevent this.

To further warn passersby of the danger, a line of little sticks with red string tied around them has been set up, but these have been ravaged by the elements and the string hangs loose.

D800 with 12-24 Sigma at 12mm; 200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Full Contrast and Structure preset and selectively restoring colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 237 – RED STRING IN THE MORNING (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. this took my breath away!!

    Like

  2. bluebrightly says:

    Wow, fabulous photo! It’s fun to read the details describing the place. I’m drawn to strings and such tied onto sticks and such, weathered and at the mercy of the elements. This image is exceptional, the way the details up front are rendered, even as the high contrast drama takes place. And I love your choice of just a bit of color.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Lynn, that’s very good to hear – thank you! And I’m glad you like the details – I wondered if I’d overdone them, but I do like to add context to images, explaining to viewers what’s shown, I think it adds to the images’ meaning and value. Also I must confess my love affair with this 12-24 zoom and especially when used at 12mm, its a whole new look at the world! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  3. That’s not string, its bailer twine. 😉

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hahaha, and here’s me trying not to make this blog too technical!!! Thanks >>> I stand corrected! 🙂

      Like

      • Bailer twine is becoming an endangered useful thing. The relentless march of black plastic bailer silage wrapper, blows in the wind and is nothing useful, just ugly litter. https://uphilldowndale.wordpress.com/2008/10/12/string/

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Oh yes, I know the black plastic silage wrapper, that’s very common on the Levels, and the farmers leave quite a bit of other rubbish around too, notably dead vehicles. But I like the area I habitually visit it because its a simple and real place – tho the villages tend to be gentrified rather. Your talk of useful things makes me think of days gone by, when we kept useful things like brown paper and string – and out in Kenya in the 1970s we did the same. Thanks for the link! A 🙂

          Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Wonderful image, Adrian – and looks even better large. I’m drawn to your images because I never know what to expect – it’s constantly surprising and refreshing, and often so very far from the kind of images I take and post.

    This is a very strong image and provokes a strong feeling which can’t properly be described – like all good art should 🙂

    Have a good BH weekend, my friend.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      M, thank you very much for these very(!) good words, which are really most encouraging. And glad the pic hits you! A good bank holiday weekend to you too. Being retired, I suppose its not so different for us than any other weekend – in fact it may be good to wait until AFTER the weekend to think of trips out – as mentioned on your blog, I haven’t been out much with the camera – but I must get out of this rut! All the best, and thank you again! A 🙂

      Like

  5. It does sound safe but it looks beautiful and intense! I like it a lot. P. S. I was going through my photo album again. Those pictures warm the heart ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      ATP, its good to hear from you – and to hear that that book of pics is having a good effect! I do hope things are going more your way. Glad you like this shot! Look after yourself, my friend. ATP

      Like

  6. paula graham says:

    I like your photo very much, Adrian: against the light, and the important subject left in colour, therefore immediately drawing one’s attention to it and wondering ..super stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

