STILL LIFE 25 – TOMATOES FROM TESCO (MONO)

 

 

tomatoes-from-tesco-mono
.
Tomatoes from Tesco; 21 Aug 2015.

Part of a sextet cosily snuggled down in a Tesco plastic tray that is happily lost in the shadows.

Apart from the one in the middle, they are reduced to uncertain, rounded forms (rather like me in a way … on a good day…) that bask in the soft light of a large window with net curtains.  I’ve used mono photography, and also the heavy blue tone, to distance them from what they actually are – to make them appear just a series of shapes.

They could be small, steep, rounded hills, and they remind me of the Eastern Red Hills on Skye, below which, long ago, I lived in the village of Torrin.

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

D800 with 105mm Nikkor; 100 ISO; tripod; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Film Noir 1 preset and adding a heavy cyanotype tone.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

7 Responses to STILL LIFE 25 – TOMATOES FROM TESCO (MONO)

  1. Meanderer says:

    I bought a pack today, but they didn’t look like that 🙂

    Seriously, though, love this – especially the smooth textures and soft lighting. As you say – as far away from a tomato as one can get.

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    A little pick-me-up from a last Christmas message to my sister
    Bear in mind she’s as batty as me, hum the “we three kings” tune to yourself as an intro… And away you go…
    All together now…

    We have pills, we’re doing Ok.
    Little smarties, take once a day.
    They’re amazing, spirit raising.
    Smiles are on their way. 

    Ohh Ohh…
    Pills of wonder, pills of light.
    Sleep all day and work all night..
    They’re amazing, spirit raising.
    Smiles are on their way.

    😀 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hallysann, you are a walking, talking pick-me-up >>> thank you very much for this kind thought – having the tune makes all the difference! I have hummed and sung it out loud, the neighbours have banged on the wall, and I feel much better! Your friend, A 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. paula graham says:

    A photo suggesting Fecundity in its truest meaning. I love it, to create something so suggestive out of something so simple is a feat in itself.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad you like it. I’m going through rather a low period at the moment, its an effort to do anything really, and photographic inspiration has rarely been there. But I hope I’m pulling out of it a bit now. I have this wonderful Manfrotto trip, it really is an engineering work of art, and (being carbon) its light as a feather, but I rarely use it – even tho my eye is caught by things around the house quite often. It is standing beside me – more like towering over me – now, and I ought to make more use of it – these tomatoes are a stab at that. I know what you mean by fecundity in its truest meaning – tho that was not in my mind when taking the shot!

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

