BRISTOL 92 – JENNY LIFE (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

jenny-life-mono-colour
.
The studio and shop of a ceramic artist, Christmas Steps, in the city centre; 10 July 2015.

To me, this image “opens out” towards the right, from between the dark triangles at upper and lower left.  I imagine that this is a result of my starting to look at the image from the left.

But my eyes cannot settle.  They are first drawn towards the leaning darknesses of the windows on the right.  But, gazing at these, the few colours remain as small pale flames in my peripheral vision – an itch that needs to be scratched –  and I cannot help but glance back left towards them; before being drawn back right to the slanting darknesses once more. 

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

There are other images from Christmas Steps here and here.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 37mm (equivalent); 200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Architectural preset and selectively restoring colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

5 Responses to BRISTOL 92 – JENNY LIFE (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. paula graham says:

    Surprising, daring and very effective angle of your photo.tells me a lot! It suggests to me that you are an adventurer at heart, ?? great stuff

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad it hits you, Paula – thank you! And yes, you’re right, I do have an adventurous streak, tho these days its more visual in nature than anything else. And, also, there’s me thinking I’m the only one who utters “great stuff” >>> great stuff!!!

      Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    Whoa, this is dizzying! A part of me is finding it hard not to try to imagine (first) the position in which you found yourself to get this perspective, and (second) whether you achieved it intentionally. But the rest of me rests assured that you did, and that your artistic tendencies kept reasonable control of your equilibrium.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh I never have equilibrium – foreign concept, old boy, bit like brushing my teeth with a fine malt! And I love “the position in which you found yourself”! Simple fact is tho, I like to look for different perspectives – and I am amply aided in this by the totally articulated screen on my G11 PowerShot, which is and has always been a total revelation. I am of course married to my big DSLRs and, in any case, I don’t think an articulated screen would work with them, due to their weight and size, but for the much smaller Canon it is a perfect combination – and hence angles like this. A

      Like

      • krikitarts says:

        I could actually understand the malt brushing, in an emergency field situation, provided that one doesn’t adulterate it with toothpaste. Meanwhile, I’m relieved that you were able to achieve your desired perspective without having to disarticulate anything musculoskeletally.

        Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

