ARCHIVE 171 – THE VIEW SOUTH FROM RATTLEDOWN FARM

 

 

uio_619_CE4_DetailExtractorGlamourGlowX
.

The view south from Rattledown Farm, looking out over the Chew Valley in Somerset, with Chew Valley Lake in the background; 12 July 2013.

Another slice of the English countryside, on a beautiful morning.  I think that the line of taller trees take my eye up through the picture to the lake’s blue, which then pulls my gaze right.  And I like the wedge of vivid pale green cutting across the image, just about along the upper horizontal third.

Chew Valley Lake is an artificial reservoir, flooded in the early 1950s – Google tells me it is the 5th largest artificial lake in the UK.  It has something of a special place in my life in that it was around its shores, in 1967, that I took my first, hesitant steps to becoming a birdwatcher – “with a little help from my friends”! 

I was useless at birdwatching in those days.  I was (and am) short sighted, wore glasses, and had only a small telescope bought for me by my parents many years earlier.  So, a bird would appear, I’d see it and whip off my glasses so as to be able to use my telescope – and then totally lose sight of it, casting blindly about with the scope.  For Christmas that year, my impecunious mother bought me a pair of 10×50 binoculars that could be used with my glasses on and – no pun intended – I never looked back.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor used at 1.5 format, giving a focal length of 450mm; 400 ISO;  final manipulation in Color Efex Pro 4.

UPDATE: I produce many dark and moody images, that’s how I am, but here’s English countryside, on a bright and sunny day.  This was taken two years ago.  With hindsight, the vivid green field may be a touch too vivid for my current tastes but, well, let’s go with it!

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to ARCHIVE 171 – THE VIEW SOUTH FROM RATTLEDOWN FARM

  1. Meanderer says:

    Fab, fab, fab! I love it, Adrian – especially the wonderful wedges of colour, from the buff of the ground, through the greens, up to that wonderful blue of the sky.

    One of my very favourites of yours, my friend.

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Nice. 🙂
    Needless to say I like the bright green and the blue water in the background.
    But tell me, is the bright feild on a plateau or are my eyes playing tricks again, I’m struggling with the perspective on this one.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad you like this, Hallysann – in fact, in view of the darker than dark pylon shot that was scheduled to follow it, I was thinking of you when I thought I’d better do a bright a colourful post first …. not to give you any false sense of security, you understand … but rather to get you up onto some sort of high, so that when the dark pylon hit, you’d only drop back down to usual levels, rather than plummeting into any abyss that was handy. So, in a way, this is your post! 🙂

      And your eyes do not deceive you. The bright green field is on to of a little plateau. The foreground ground rises up steeply towards it and, beyond the bright green, the land falls quickly away towards the lake. A

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sallyann says:

        Thank you, the cheery green field, and the happy thoughts which go with it are very much appreciated.
        I spotted it during a bus ride to hospital visiting… On a roller-coaster path with the abyss on one side and the grey cliff face close on the other.
        Mum-in-law is a tough old lady but there are so many hoops still to jump through to get to the happy ending.

        Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    Methinks you may be getting overly color-sensitive. After the usual exposure to your generally-preferred darker side, that fresh-mown, mid-summery green is certainly somewhat more vivid than the other hues in your frame, but not at all excessively so. In fact, I find it delightfully refreshing. And–oh, look! There seems to be a bird in the bare patch at lower left, so you once again have the best of both worlds!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, thank you very much – I certainly value both your expertise and your reassurance! I expect I was being over-self-critical, wallowing in self-doubt maybe. And you’re right about the bird – I hadn’t picked that up at all. Thank you again. Adrian 🙂

      Like

  4. “Never looked back. ” Hehe.
    Very picturesque, bud. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Bud, its good to hear from you – Bud!!! Does me good hearing from you in fact. Hope things are on somewhat more of an even keel now. Picturesque? well you’re not the first to think that of me … 😉 I hope you’re good. ATP xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. paula graham says:

    Yea..nice. I know how you look at the vivid greens after b&w..I alway think mine is way to vivid…but…it CAN BE vivid!! Your greens look fine on my puter screen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, thank you for this very useful feedback, that’s very good to know! And then of course, my doubts only serve to raise the spectre of realism again – would it really matter if the green is not precisely accurate??? I suppose that, in this instance, I was aiming at verisimilitude – but anyway, I like the image, so what the hell! 😀 But thank you again. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

