ARCHIVE 167 – EAST MARA CLOUDSCAPE

 

 

ADL249X
.
Cloudscape over the eastern side of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, Kenya; April 1979.

If such a photo can have a subject within it (i.e. as opposed to the subject being the whole skyscape), I think that here its the large cloud at top right, which is well defined against the very dark sky, and which is at a compositional strong point –  the intersection of the upper and left hand thirds. 

Also notice the effect of the polariser, which has more clearly defined the whole scene and which, in particular, has turned the sky at upper right almost black.

OM-1 with 28mm Zuiko and polarising filter; Agfa CT18 colour slide rated at 64 ISO.

UPDATE: the mention of “thirds” refers to the Rule Of Thirds, which is an aspect of image composition – Google “rule of thirds definition” for further info.  This rule is useful but, like all such “rules”, it should not be used every time, or your images will start to lose their spark and originality, they will become too predictable.   Instead, when creating images, be a rule-breaker, go with what your heart and your gut feelings tell you, and be ……. YOU!!!

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

8 Responses to ARCHIVE 167 – EAST MARA CLOUDSCAPE

  1. bluebrightly says:

    1979…slides..Agfa…takes me back! I used to prefer the color tones in Agfa to Kodachrome, even though I was just doing the occasional snapshots. I did notice a difference.

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    A very un-Fatman like picture, and a surprise smile. Thanks for that. 🙂
    The bottom half of the picture is pretty, but the top half had my weird imagination watching the clouds swirling as if someone had stirred them with a spoon in a tea-cup. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Un-me-like? Ah well, you see, it was 36 years ago when, as Blackadder might put it, I was more of a soft little rabbitty thing … bringing on surprise smiles just here, there and, well, everywhere, dear ….

      Love the teacup thing – a storm in one? … 😉

      Like

      • Sallyann says:

        Well let’s hope that now the weary workdays are over, refreshing retirement might kick in and bring out a few more surprise smiles here and there. 🙂

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Can’t guarantee the surprise smiles I’m afraid, although I would like to. I never knowingly take pictures with smiles in mind – like some other things, which I may talk about in a post, smiles are never up there on my photographic event horizon – though in actual life they’re frequently around 🙂 – why there’s one now!

          Liked by 1 person

  3. paula graham says:

    Best throw the rulebook into the woodburner! Good post Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, thank you! Yes, the woodburner. I suppose I think that such “rules” are good to have in the back of my mind as a part of my visual experience, but no more than that. A

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

