ARCHIVE 165 – REFLECTIONS IN A RIVER

 

 

ADL1bX
.
Reflections in the river beside Ashmoor Drove, Ash Moor, southwest of Wells, on the Somerset Levels; 7 Apr 2007..

When it comes to radically altering a picture to reflect a vision in my mind, I’m right in there with monochrome images every time.  And, indeed, being already one step removed from reality, mono positively invites further distortion – there are times when presenting a mono photo just as the camera recorded it seems rather a shame, even a waste maybe!

But, when faced with a colour image I’m usually far more conservative, feeling perhaps that presenting colour images with distorted colours is somehow cheap, gimmicky and unreal . . . .  I don’t get out much, you understand . . . . .

But I see plenty of examples of false colours on other blogs and I think its time to give this a try.  Good assistance is right to hand.  I rave on about mono manipulation in Silver Efex Pro 2 and that’s certainly for real, but I also have Alien Skin’s Exposure 2, which has a positive wealth of false colour filters, for both colour and mono images.

So, here are the reflections of two trees in a river,  that on the right being a pollarded Willow – the meaning of which is explained here.  I’ve scanned the colour transparency, taken it into Exposure 2 and given it a faded look, darkening it and making it more yellowed.  I am of course taking an easy option here, because this image is already trending towards abstraction, so that altering its colours does not have the marked effect that it would with a colour image of straight reality.  Still, I like it – what do you think?

F6 with 24-85 Nikkor at 80mm; Fuji Sensia 100 colour slide rated at 125 ISO; taken into mono via Alien Skin’s Exposure 2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

5 Responses to ARCHIVE 165 – REFLECTIONS IN A RIVER

  1. Sallyann says:

    I like it too, although to me the trees are now gone, but instead there’s a nice intricate pattern of lines for your eyes to wander around, and a relaxing colour to wander into too. 🙂

    Like

  2. It’s a fun thing to do with monochrome- as you probably see on my blog too!! Well done!! I like it.

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Well, yes, It is nice to join the others sometimes…I must confess, I quite like these effect and yet I rarely use them…. This is a good instance to have a go ..in your case.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      This is an Archive shot of course, first posted sometime back, and despite what I say here I haven’t got into this genre very much since then, save for some cyanotypes and copper tones with mono shots. But I like to “spread through the genres” a bit, and I feel that I ought to try out other things – but as my wife so dauntingly puts it … well we’ll see …..

      Thanks for your good thoughts! A

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

