PEOPLE 209 – SELFIE OF YOUNG LOVE (MONO)

 

 

 

Selfie of young love
.
Something heartwarming, something very good to see; West Bay, Dorset; 21 Apr 2015.

Strolling on the harbour wall at the diminutive Dorset resort of West Bay, with the damned great Nikon and zoom perched on my paunch – when over left a selfie was fired off – and I was just not quick enough to capture the action, although I did get a shot of them examining the result immediately afterwards.

And so, and not for the first time, I cursed my lack of alertness and speed – when they squared up for another shot at it – I mean, them – and this time I was ready.

Well, its truly candid, and as an image I like it.  Presentation in black and white removes the distractions of colour and takes us in solely to them and what they’re about.

But those thoughts only scratch the surface on this one.  I started off by describing it as heartwarming and I stick by that.  Its a moment of togetherness and affection, a moment shared – and that’s good to see.  Who knows what the future will bring for them?  Not knowing them at all, I wish them good luck and happiness.

See?  Underneath … well, actually, quite deep underneath … I’m just an Old Softy ….

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Full Spectrum preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

12 Responses to PEOPLE 209 – SELFIE OF YOUNG LOVE (MONO)

  1. Malin Ellisdotter H says:

    An old softy? Naah… young at heart and softy. 🙂 A wonderful moment, Adrian. There’s nothing more beautiful than the love between two people.

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    There’s a big softie inside all of us…
    Some people just keep it too well protected and forget where they’ve put it. 🙂
    Have you thought of putting the photo on one of the Facebook area groups to see if anyone recognises the couple so they can have the picture too.?
    Facebook is finally doing some good as a lost and found at the moment. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      No, I’ve never gone anywhere near Facebook – but if you’d like to copy the image and have a go – be my guest! I’d like to think you’re right about the big softie in us all, but am unsure ….

      Liked by 1 person

  3. paula graham says:

    Ha, ha..we never grow up..the whole world loves a lover. Sweet..Nicely taken and processed.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      No, you’re absolutely right, we never grow up – and what a good thing that is! Except when I look at my reflection in shop windows and wonder who the old man looking back me is …

      Thank you for your good words. 🙂

      Like

  4. bananabatman says:

    Nice one Adrian. I guess. that if they only knew of it, they might prefer a copy of this shot to the one that they took.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, maybe, Dave! I’d like to send them a copy but of course I have no idea who they are – maybe I should have asked them? How are you getting on, man? Are you both ok? Adrian

      Like

      • bananabatman says:

        We are fine thanks Adrian. Under a little pressure at the moment, since the population of our house has risen from 2 to 10 (inc 2 cats and a dog), hence it is tricky getting time at my computer. Our oldest son and family are back from the USA for a year, and they are still looking for a house to rent. In the meantime he is using my ‘study’ as an office from about 08:30 until about 22:00, and pm, he spends quite a lot of time on the phone to the US. It’s good to see the grandchildren though.

        I hope that you are fit as well.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          That’s certainly a population increase – still, that’s life! I’m ok thanks, Dave, still indulging myself in Belgian beer – but have actually managed to lose over 2 stone >>> so this could soon be THINMan Photos!!! Adrian 🙂

          Like

          • bananabatman says:

            As long as the weight loss is intentional, that’s great Adrian. Don’t want you fading away though. I think this is unlikely with you blogging presence. Dave 🙂

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              Yes its intentional – and I shall take the Rolling Stones’ “Not fade away” as my anthem … don’t want to turn side on and become invisible … that sort of thing … >>> AS IF!!! LOL!!! Adrian 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

