ARCHIVE 161 – DHOW AT LAMU

ADL239X
.
Dhow on the shore at Lamu, coastal Kenya; July 1978.

Last night I watched a TV programme on indigenous art in West Africa.  It reinforced a thought that I’ve many times had that, while in Kenya, I should have taken more photos of both old and modern local art, and of the people too, but in those days I was very much into wildlife and scenery – and that’s, mainly, what I’ve got!

The town of Lamu is on a small island off Kenya’s coast.  When I was there, no motor vehicles were allowed on the island and that’s probably still the case now.  Kenya’s coastal peoples are mainly muslim, and Lamu abounded with beautiful things – buildings, boats, narrow alleyways, carved wooden doors – a wonderful place to be.  I imagine its still much the same now but, like much of eastern Kenya, it is on the alert for violence, piracy and kidnappings springing from its unstable neighbour, Somalia.

OM-1 with 75-150 Zuiko at 150mm; Agfa CT18 colour slide rated at 64 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

2 Responses to ARCHIVE 161 – DHOW AT LAMU

  1. paula graham says:

    Adrian, how I know what you feel. I too travelled the world and saw wonderful things…all that without a camera. Now it is too late…I ‘hate’ travelling but with a tardus to use, I would return to some of these places again..Nikon in hand! Like the deserts in the middle East for instance or some wonderful cities like Rome..Vienna, Berlin, Dubai, Hong Kong, and others. C’est la vie!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, c’est la vie, Paula! I’ve never been to those cities (but I visited Warsaw, briefly, in the 1970s), but the deserts of the Middle East did see me, mainly in Oman. But in my “travelling days” I was by profession a geologist (tho in all honesty not a lot of geology got done …) but by passion a birdwatcher (of which a vast amount got done …). And, as a bit of a sideline really, I pointed my cameras at things I thought looked nice, tho rarely photographing birds. Nowadays, birds remain a deep love that will never fade, but images are my passion and – do you know? – I think photography might rather “get in the way of things” were I ever to travel abroad again – which I’m not going to do. C’est la vie! A 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

