SOMERSET LEVELS 230 – TEALHAM MOOR, LOOKING WEST (MONO)

 

 

Tealham Moor, looking west
.
Tealham Moor, south of Wedmore, looking west along one of the water-filled ditches that border the rough track that is Tealham Moor Drove; 26 June 2015.

The water-filled ditch or rhyne (rhymes with seen) acts as the boundary between the track (which is unseen on the right) and the fields on the left – I suppose you could call it a liquid fence.  Its surface is covered in waterweed, and should man or beast be crazy enough to venture into it, the water will be at least waist deep, while the thick, oozing, glutinous black mud on the bottom will suck down your legs and not let go.  Cows coming down to drink do lose their footing and fall in, after which a tractor will be needed to haul them out.

The trees on the left – pollarded Willows – have also featured in images here and here.

Click onto this image to see a larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 12-24 Sigma at 24mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Full Dynamic Harsh preset.

(NOTE: I’ve just acquired a replacement screen for my computer, and am not yet fully at one with it.  So if you should come across any of my new (as opposed to Archive) posts that really do look far too dark or pale, please do tell me about it!)
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

9 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 230 – TEALHAM MOOR, LOOKING WEST (MONO)

  1. Meanderer says:

    Love this, Adrian. The water-filled ditch looks like a moonlit path!

    Great to see you back, my friend.

    Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Adrian, Good to see you up and running again. Yes, I know it does take a little while to get used to another setup again, but this shot looks pretty good to me..in both processing and shooting!

    Like

  3. Malin Ellisdotter H says:

    Just an amazing image. You know what I feel for your landscape photography…
    I’m looking at you image from my iPhone and it looks perfect! Perfect tones…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Malin, thank you very much, my friend! And its good to be back in contact too – I’ve had to get a new computer screen, which I think I’ve now got set up as I want >>> but its very good to hear that the tones in this shot are good – thank you! Now I’m catching up on blog emails – although I may be seduced by a large bottle of good cider in awhile … Thank you again. I hope this finds you well and content, my friend. Adrian 🙂

      Like

      • Malin Ellisdotter H says:

        My pleasure, my friend.
        My computer crashed a while ago… So I’m using my iPhone a lot and blogging from my husband’s laptop. I have everything on portable hard drives and now I’m hoping that I can afford to buy me a laptop, but that’s not possible at the moment.

        Enjoy your cider and take care, Adrian. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Sallyann says:

    Yay!
    I don’t care how dark and broody your picture Is… it’s nice to see you back. 😀

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

