ARCHIVE 157 – PREDATOR

 

 

Predator
.
Herring Gull, St Ives, Cornwall; 27 Sept 2012.

My ongoing love affair with these noisy, aggressive and highly opportunistic beings who, for the greater part of my life, have always been around.

Click onto theย image to see a substantially larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

20 Responses to ARCHIVE 157 – PREDATOR

  1. bluebrightly says:

    And this must be a young-ish one, from the plumage. I love the way you caught the hole in the beak. These ubiquitous creatures can be very handsome.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      No, the ages of gulls can be confusing. That yellow and red bill shows this to be an adult or nearly so – with the dark streaks of the winter plumage starting to appear – it will end up streaked over its head and neck in the winter. Yes they are handsome, there is beauty in all things – including the beauty of function, meaning that a creature that is very suited for its role in this world is beautiful in that respect, even if not in looks – and the example there that comes to mind is the Spotted Hyaena! Thanks for your thoughts, Lynn! Adrian

      Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Nice photo, of a much maligned creature.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you. Much maligned, yes. But unless we mount campaigns to smash their eggs, or actually get out there with shotguns, a creature that is doing very nicely thank you – haha! and I’m certainly NOT advocating those strategies, in case I’ve given that impression! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    You are indeed wise to conduct your love affair with gulls from a safe distance. I’ve handled several in the course of my career and afterward, and they’re bigger than they look, strong, and very quick. And their beaks are very strong and sharp. They’re a bit like snapping turtles, too, in that, once they bite down, it’s hard to get them to let go. Still, incredible poetry in the air!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh yes, I’ve seen film of snapping turtles – I think it was in the film Mississippi Hunter, who said that if you’re not careful with one of these turtles, you end up wearing it! I know your advice is good, my experienced friend – thank you! A

      Like

  4. I’ve been afraid of these birds since the movie The Birds. Great shot and a bit scary.

    Like

  5. Sallyann says:

    It was a bird very similar to this who taught me not to waste any time transferring a doughnut from it’s paper bag to my mouth. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      There you are you see, a creature of inestimable worth! No no!!! not you, not you, the bird, the bird!!! Tho for all I know you may be inestimable too, probably are I suspect – do you think Personnel have scrawled that across the cover of your personal file???

      And if I’d been there, you might have had to get that doughnut into your face in double quick time gulls or not – which shows that we’re all good at something ….. Human Dustbinism being my particular forte …. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m glad I’m not the only one. My appreciation of them really started in the late 1960s, when I was sat in a classroom in Burghead, as part of an Outward Bound course, watching them riding the thermals around a large silo, breaking off and descending, only to enter the thermal again. I watched for what must have been about twenty minutes, and didn’t see a single wing-beat. I enjoy watching any creature that is supremely good at what it does, and gulls certainly fill that spec.
    Incidentally, watching these birds was not what I was supposed to have been doing…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh I’m glad I’m not the only one too, Keith!!! Most people seem either to be indifferent or to loath them – and I’ve even had bawled hysteria (from people quite inclined that way, it must be said) along the lines of “RATS WITH WINGS, RATS WITH WINGS!”. Yes, supremely good at what they do, that says it all about gulls.

      Well, whether or not you were supposed to have been watching those gulls at Burghead, it seems to have been a life-enhancing moment, a moment of great value to you – and what sad soul is going to try to deny you that? Thank you for your thoughts, its very good to meet a fellow traveller! Adrian ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

