ARCHIVE 155 – CORMORANT

 

 

ADL384cX
.
Cormorant leaving its perch and flying off into the sunrise; Lake Nakuru, Kenya; January 1978.

Olympus OM-1 or OM-2; and a very quick (and lucky!) grab shot with a 400mm Vivitar telephoto.

UPDATE: a photo that reminds me of cold, clear dawns on the lake edge – yes, cold – although almost on the equator, Lake Nakuru is over a mile above sea level and dawns can be, by Kenyan standards at least, distinctly chilly.  Frost occurs not too far above this, in the mountains.

I forget which colour slide film I used – it might have been Kodak’s High Speed Ektachrome, which attained the dizzy heights of 160 ISO!  And which, if we were really daring, we could have push processed to 640 ISO – heady days indeed!

Sometime back, probably when I first posted this, one viewer remarked upon the similarity between the tree stump’s outspread shape to the bird’s outspread wings – a valuable point.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

13 Responses to ARCHIVE 155 – CORMORANT

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    very interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. icastel says:

    Awesome shot, Adrian. I like the fact that the bird is “mirrored” by its perch and, with wings extended, one flies away and the other remains immobile. I like the tones, as well.

    Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    And the perch has wings too – echoing the bird in flight. Clever composition, Adrian

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Andy, many thanks, I’m glad you like it. Its very good of you to call it a composition – that’s very generous of you! But luck played a huge part – I was very slowly moving towards it, it flew and BANG!!! No motor drive, no time for another shot, no follow focus – and then of course the anticipation that you and I remember well, waiting to have the film developed to see the results. A

      Like

  4. Sallyann says:

    It’s been a long busy night in work. As my head hits the pillow this morning I shall spread my wings and fly off into such a sunrise as this, safe to dream in the knowledge that the gentle alarm I’ve set on my phone will wake me later in the day. 😀

    Like

  5. paula graham says:

    Lovely light, scene and colours.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, my friend – and this colour slide is 37 years old, well over half a life ago – time goes by and much changes. I gather that the levels of many of Kenya’s rift valley lakes have risen greatly, such that the site of this photo is now far underwater, with much of the lake shore now only accessible on foot, and with the vast flamingo flocks now no longer there, since the less soda-rich waters provide far less of their food – all due to unstoppable geological forces. A

      Like

  6. two great silhouettes… …great shot

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

