CHEW LAKE 15 – THE NORTHERN SIDE OF HERONS GREEN BAY (MONO)

 

 

 

The northern side of Herons Green Bay

.

The northern side of Herons Green Bay; 6 Apr 2015.

I’m attracted to those stark and, in places, writhing tree silhouettes, and the deep belt of shadow below them, which contrasts with the pale band of reeds that fringe the water. 

The bird is a Great Crested Grebe, a truly beautiful species that we are so fortunate to have on these local waters.  I think that its presence, however small, adds something – a point of focus.  When I blank it out with my finger, the composition is still there, but it is somehow emptier – what do you think?

Click onto this image to see a larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 230mm; 200 ISO with 0.7 stops overexposure; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Contrast Smooth preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

8 Responses to CHEW LAKE 15 – THE NORTHERN SIDE OF HERONS GREEN BAY (MONO)

  1. icastel says:

    Great black and white, Adrian! The bird! Not meaning to say that the rest of the shot is bad, but the bird makes the image. My eyes wandered around and landed, at the end, on the bird. I thought to comment on that before I read your description. But you also mention it, so now all I have to say is “I agree” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hello, Igor, good to hear from you! How are you getting on? Thanks for your thoughts on this – isn’t it strange how such a small part of a picture can so effect it? Strange – and very interesting I think. I know you’re into black and white, and this being the case, do have a look at my Dorset 28 post, “In the harbour”, if you haven’t already, I think you might like it. I hope you’re fine, my friend, and that things are going well for you. Adrian 🙂

      Like

      • icastel says:

        Hi Adrian. Thank you 🙂 I’m doing OK, hope the same for you, my friend. And, yes, I also find it interesting that such a small part of the whole is what breathes life into it. I hadn’t been on here consistently in a while, so I may have missed the post you mention. I’ll go ahead and dig through your blog now 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Malin H says:

    I fully agree with you, my friend. This image would (of course) be nice as a landscape image too – but the bird is the icing on the cake.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks for confirming my thoughts, Malin – its strange how something as small in the image as that bird can affect the image so much – this is something, in images generally, that interests me very much. Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. paula graham says:

    Yea, I like the processing of this photo, the subject , the reflections in the water and your lone grebe? in just the right place. Lovely

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

