SOMERSET LEVELS 222 – DAYBREAK, UPPER GODNEY

 

 

Daybreak, Upper Godney
.
First light over Upper Godney, on the Somerset Levels south of Wedmore; 9 Jan 2015.

A grove of poplars, uncommon hereabouts and rather a landmark; a telephone line; and the bright windows of a farmhouse in which folk are up and about, getting ready for work on this cold and breezy winter’s morning.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 25,600 ISO; Dfine 2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

7 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 222 – DAYBREAK, UPPER GODNEY

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Dash of Orange and yellow make this picture!

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    First light. the best time of the day. 🙂
    With the longer days and earlier mornings the sun is up way before I leave work now, but if I look out of a window in the right direction at tea break I can just see the sky turning from black to navy. 😀

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Adrian..I like your photo lots: the lovely poplars, its simplicity , the blue colour, the composition make it most attractive photo.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad you like it, Paula, thank you! I hadn’t considered its simplicity but you’re right – basically, its all black, apart from the sky and those windows. I could probably have made those house lights less orange but they would then have seemed less warm, welcoming and homely I think. Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

