ARCHIVE 150 – REFLECTION

 

 

cor1_163X
.
A still morning in Mevagissey harbour; 24 Oct 2012.

To me the boat is an object sitting on the solid, unbending, unrippled background of its own dark reflection.

There are four sets of lines here.  Those of the reflection, which those on the right side of the boat (as we see it) seem to swing away from – maybe these two sets of lines are diverging from a common source. 

Then, left of the boat’s sharp bow, the lines are more or less horizontal and barely curved, and divided from the others by the bow. 

Finally, the mooring ropes and the bow produce a near vertical trend at sharp angles to everything else.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 3200 ISO.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to ARCHIVE 150 – REFLECTION

  1. Sallyann says:

    A very still morning indeed, and nice lines, but my eyes are telling my brain to crane my neck above the picture, I want to peep into the boat too. 😀

    Like

  2. Love the blues in this, great contrast to the white/grey.

    Like

  3. I agree with Paula, it is as though there is something sinister in the dark depths. Nice photo mind 🍀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      John, thanks for this input – fascinating! And I am starting to see what you and Paula are getting at – almost as if there is some appalling denizen of the deep silently and unobtrusively rising under the little boat – Jaws comes to mind I suppose, but I’m also reminded of something else I can’t put a name to. Thanks again. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

  4. paula graham says:

    Somehow a rather foreboding photo , as if there is a lot more you could have shown but thought better off, to save our emotions!!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      That’s an interesting interpretation, Paula. I don’t know that I agree with you, but it is very good to hear that point of view – its always good hearing what others, and especially you, think of images. A

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

