CHEW LAKE 14 – THE BAY BESIDE BROOK COPSE

 

 

The bay beside Brook Copse
.
This image is best viewed enlarged – click onto it to see a larger version in a separate window.

Mute Swan in the bay beside Brook Copse, on the lake’s northeast edge; 15 May 2015.

An image almost without colour, with the marked exception of that beacon-like bill.  The various structures within this image are mainly horizontal – the wavelets, the areas of water plants – but the bird’s gentle bow wave is at a slight angle to this trend.

A popular path around the lake crosses a small stream or brook here via a small bridge, and walkers often feed the waterbirds from the bridge.  This swan spotted me on the bridge from some way off and, ever ready for food, came over – but I had not a thing edible on me!

You can find a very different picture of a swan at this lake here.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

12 Responses to CHEW LAKE 14 – THE BAY BESIDE BROOK COPSE

  1. Meanderer says:

    Love this, Adrian. The limited colour palette and the horizontal tufts of grass give it a very peaceful serene feeling. The addition of colour in the swan’s bill adds an element of surrealism almost!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, being me I had thought of black and white but that orange bill was mandatory! And real colour was the thing, as opposed to restoring colour after converting to B+W – I wanted a totally natural look. And yes, it is serene, isn’t it – a quiet, peaceful place, somewhere we’d all like to be. I’m glad you like it, M – thank you! Adrian

      Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    All of the elements fit just right–it’s as if you’d staged the whole thing. And the subtle splashes of orange just fit the bill!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, thank you very much – and I just love “just fit the bill”!!! 😀 And maybe I did stage it – not apparently feeling ravenously hungry, the swan was coming at me at a very gentle pace and, aware of the waterweeds, I had the time to frame it and take several shots as it coasted gently past – either that or I’m a NUT (member of the National Union of Taxidermists, well, I mean, what else???) and had a submerged assistant (an aspiring NUT?) positioning the bird just right ….. 😉 …..

      Like

  3. paula graham says:

    You just cannot go wrong with a swan! Nice photo anyway, especially with those bits of greenery to be in the middle!.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      “You just cannot go wrong with a swan!” irresistibly brings to mind “You’re never alone with a Strand” – remember those long ago cigarette adverts? Although maybe they were pre your UK days. And you’re right about the waterweeds in the middle – take ’em out and the whole thing would look too empty. Thanks for your thoughts, Paula. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

  4. An elegant image befitting the elegance of a Mute Swan – lovely 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Lisa, I’m glad you like it – thank you! By the way, you mentioned that you were going to email me – in case you’ve sent that email, I’ve received nothing so far. Adrian

      Like

  5. Lovely photo..so calm and serene..and the foreground just works so well.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, calm and serene, that’s exactly what it was, just me on the little bridge and the swan gliding silently towards me. In contrast to this serenity, the water was teeming with small fish, but they were hard to see and my only shot of them is terrible! James, I’m glad this image gets to you – thank you! Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

