BRISTOL 88 – AND IN THE BEGINNING WAS THE CAT 5 (MONO)

 

 

And in the beginning was the cat 5
.

Yesterday I was talking with a blogger who had posted a great cat portrait which I found on Freshly Pressed and, this making me think more about “things feline”, here is another in the “And in the Beginning …” series.

She is looking rather startled, but then fades off into a pale, misty world – most of which is her!

>>> And please accept my apologies – sitting sleepily at the computer earlier this morning, I think I accidentally sent out this post way before I’d completed it – my apologies for the foul up!

1 Mar 2015; D700 with 105 Nikkor; 3200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Strong Infrared Low Contrast preset.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

16 Responses to BRISTOL 88 – AND IN THE BEGINNING WAS THE CAT 5 (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    From where do you additional get silver ex pro preset ?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I originally bought SEP on its own, on a disk, and with came a booklet about how to use this software, and the details of how to obtain the extra presets are in there. They are free. Here are the details from the booklet –

      Visit http://www.niksoftware.com/presets. In the Product pull down menu, select Silver Efex Pro 2 to display only SEP2 presets. There you will find SEP1 presets, new SEP2 presets, SEP2 preset packs, and presets created by other photographers.

      To install at preset, click onto the preset you would like to download. Click on the Download This Preset Button – place the downloaded preset in a location you will be able to easily access. Launch SEP2 via it host software eg Elements, and import the preset into SEP2 from that location – use the Import Button. Navigate to the location and click OK. Using Shift and click, you can import multiple presets in one operation. The imports will be available in the Custom section in the Imported Presets area.

      A

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A bit of a smug cat. I’ve seen that look from mine many times. Great processing, Adrian, to isolate that dark splotch to the left…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, smug – self-contained mostly too – but then I suppose that most cats are. Re the dark splodge, I think I was helped by the facts that its slightly in shadow (the light was coming from the right), and that she’s mostly pure white. Thanks for your thoughts, Brandon! Adrian

      Like

  3. Great image – the eyes make it…I can’t decide if the expression is startled or barely tolerant of being photographed!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad you like it – and you’ve just Liked my cowslips, so thanks for that too! 🙂 Yes, she’s something of a strange cat, often indulging on long periods of tail wagging – which I gather is an iffy sign in cats – and although she likes having her tummy rubbed, she’s apt to get over excited and start excitedly lashing about with her claws extended – which is certainly iffy! A

      Like

  4. suzieflooze says:

    Thank you!!! You are the first to link me into a blog. And your blog has been reblogged so it’s spreading even further.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

