BIRDS 71 – WOOD PIGEON

 

 

Wood Pigeon
.
Wood Pigeon atop the cliffs west of West Bay, Dorset; 23 Apr 2015.

The tree is as important a part of this picture as the bird.  In particular, the greenery left of the bird and the “pistol barrel” it points at the bird’s head, the various bare branchlets that reach up towards upper right, and that branchlet with lichens at lower right, which starts to point towards upper right but then changes its mind and points up at the bird instead.  The tree almost provides a frame, or a throne, for the bird.  (And no, I certainly didn’t see all this before taking the shot!)

In addition to ornithological facts about this bird, a google search also provides recipes for cooking them!  And, birdwatcher that I was and bird lover that I am, this is a British wild bird that I’ve actually eaten – they were part of the lunch at a data analysis meeting >>> wowee!!! all of that seems a lifetime away now!  Anyway, getting back to the birds, I can’t say that the two of them really rose to my gourmet ideals of “a good plateful”.

How can these wild birds be eaten in our Green and Conservationists’ Land?  Well, their numbers have expanded to the extent that they are a major agricultural pest so that, with the right permission, they can legally be shot – although, 40 years ago in Somerset, I remember some country dwellers not bothering about permission and just blasting away.  We even have increasing numbers in our Bristol garden – but we feed them rather than vice versa!

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

8 Responses to BIRDS 71 – WOOD PIGEON

  1. The color is absolutely beautiful! xxx

    Like

  2. paula graham says:

    At the moment the woodpigeon is welcome on my plot, I like their cooing during the day, I do not have that many and they do no harm to anyone.
    Maybe if I had a plantation full of something I wanted to grow and needed to eat, and the pigeons ate it all instead…I would think different. Nice photo of one and the shrub it sits on.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

