PEOPLE 206 – PHOTOGRAPHER (MONO)

 

 

Photographer
.
For optimum viewing of this image, click on it to see a larger version in a separate window.

Photographer on top the East Cliff at West Bay, Dorset; 21 Apr 2015.

Having climbed the really quite steep path palely visible on the far left, a woman pauses to look back westwards, taking a photo perhaps of the view over the tiny coastal resort of West Bay and the wonderful coastal scenery beyond.  Her companion – who may be as frustrated and bored with her “artistic pauses” as many photographers’ companions are – digs his hands into his pockets and stalks on along the path, which passes to the right of the wire fence.

I like this picture for its simplicity, and also for the impression it gives of Tiny and Fleeting Humanity against the dark, brooding, massive and far longer term Natural World.  I’ve intentionally made the silhouette to emphasise this distinction, but I value the path’s pale rocks because they provide some sort of border to the image on that side.  And the featureless blue sky is left untidy with a contrail and gulls, both of which could have been removed, because they add some interest and closure on the right.

And has she seen the glint of the long lens on my thundering great tank of a Nikon, and so is photographing, me photographing her, photographing me … “and so on, ad infinitum“, if I can paraphrase Jonathan Swift (1667-1745)?  Or is she (hopefully …) of a more artistic bent, and going for what the French call a vue generale?

Finally, the cliff’s stark edge forms the profile of a human visage that is looking up to the right – forelock, eyelashes, nose, lips, and maybe double chin or Adam’s Apple too, they’re all there –   but even I have not the gall to suggest that they be thought of as a cliff face.

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the High Structure Harsh preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to PEOPLE 206 – PHOTOGRAPHER (MONO)

  1. Malin H says:

    Excellent – just excellent!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. krikitarts says:

    Fleeting is fitting, putting people in perspective.

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    my imagination is running riot..there is a face on the sharp edges of the dark/stark edge of the cliff. Indeed I too like the trail and the bird in the empty space. .
    Ha, ha..I wrote the above before I read your long article!!! But then thought I leave it as is, so you can see that I truly ‘look’!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hahaha!!! >>> Paula, once more I applaud you for your downright honesty, and wonder if maybe you were mislead by the multicoating on your lorgnette … 😉 Whatever is the case, and I’m sure its not what I suggest, I’m glad you like the picture – thank you! Adrian

      Like

  4. First thing I saw was the giant head profile 🙂 and I like the small people on top. Cheers, Adrian.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Harrie, thank you very much, I value your opinions. But we are different – I saw the tiny people first, the giant profile a long time second – its always good hearing other peoples’ thoughts. Thanks again. Adrian 🙂

      Like

      • Out in the real world, I most likely would have spotted the tiny people first; but when you confront me with that huge black silhouette, the giant head comes first. (this one would fit quite well in my ‘People are small’-series..). See you!

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Yes, your absolutely right – my thoughts derive in part for what I had in mind for the picture at capture, whereas you’re seeing it post-capture and processing – good point! A 🙂

          Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

