ARCHIVE 147 – ENGINEERING COURSES FOR COWS: THIS IS A NUT AND BOLT

.

Engineering courses for cows: this is a nut and bolt
,
Cow eying a nut and bolt on a farm at Stanton Drew, near Bristol; 7 May 2013.

And, not being a practical person, I bet this isn’t strictly speaking a nut and bolt – but will the cow be any the wiser?

D800 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 3200 ISO.

UPDATE: this was originally posted in the Fantasy category, where it certainly belongs – and, sure enough, a friend pointed out that it in fact shows two nuts and a bolt – technicals are usually a mystery to me, right up there along with botanicals.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

4 Responses to ARCHIVE 147 – ENGINEERING COURSES FOR COWS: THIS IS A NUT AND BOLT

  1. Sallyann says:

    Most definitely nutty, moo-oo. 🙂

    Like

  2. paula graham says:

    I Fear for the cow..they usually lose and pay for their association with us with their lives…hmmm..this shot, for me therefore has a very dark and dim meaning..that’s life.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I understand exactly what you’re saying, Paula, and certainly respect your views. I enjoy cows in two ways. Seeing them in the countryside is always good, and I often talk to them and do other silly / “humorous” things. But I also enjoy eating them, and in that respect I suppose they lose out on the same way that everything that is farmed does, whether plant or animal. This may not be relevant here, but my father was a butcher for all the years that I knew him and, to give my mum a break on Saturday mornings, he would take his little boy to the local abattoir, where he was working at the time, and let me wander unattended – no Health & Safety in those days! Being little, I think I was curious rather than being appalled, but I don’t think it hardened me. And then of course, there were the kills seen on safari, which it was my job to keep in view. I’m glad you that you are honest about your feelings. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

