SOMERSET LEVELS 219 – FOG, TEALHAM MOOR 1 (MONO)

 

 

Fog, Tealham Moor 1
.
The western reaches of Tealham Moor, south of Wedmore; 27 Nov 2014.

Low key, a dark picture, something that may not be to the tastes those more at ease with – and in – the light.  Living not too far from where much of the eerie action took place, I hugely enjoy Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s novel The Hound of the Baskervilles, and this picture instantly reminds me of the great detective Sherlock Holmes’ words – “… do not go out on the moor at night when the powers of darkness are exalted.”.  There is safety in the light and, of course, danger in the dark; and we are conditioned to think of the light as Good and the dark as Evil.

But to me this picture does evoke a memory, of what it was like being there.  And did I experience any primeval fears or stirrings when out and about in that dense gloom?  No, the darkness was only just lightening and I couldn’t see a lot, but I know this miniscule part of our planet’s surface quite well, I am at home there, and it will be my last resting place.

And to me this bare tree shouts strength, natural strength, the strength of Natural Things, something very real to me.  Should our civilisation collapse tomorrow, I will be destitute, not likely to survive, whereas this tree will be self-sufficient, it will keep on keeping on.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 125mm; 12,800 ISO; mono conversion via  Capture NX2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 219 – FOG, TEALHAM MOOR 1 (MONO)

  1. Nicely done, Adrian. With the context, this reminds me of early morning and being out at day break when the mind is also still foggy. I think everyone has seen this…the dark silhouette of brush against the sky….but you grabbed the photograph to preserve. The low key process makes this one in my opinion.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      The foggy daybreak mind – something that’s hitting me harder as I get older >>> and flasks of piping hot coffee, always so delicious when drunk outdoors early in the day, are my (partial) solution! Glad the low key gets to you – thank you! A 🙂

      Like

  2. paula graham says:

    Beautifully spoken, beautifully illustrated .

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

