STILL LIFE 23 – THE SUN, SHINING THROUGH BLINDS ONTO CUSHIONS

 

 

The sun, shining through blinds onto cushions
.
One thing about lolling back on a sofa for protracted periods is that it gives you plenty of opportunity to really look at and appreciate your surroundings.  Even if you’re not looking for them, you start to notice things that might otherwise lie low and unremarked.  And, more to the point, if you adhere to the sofa for sometime, which I thoroughly recommend, you see how the gradually changing angle of the day’s light interplays with the objects within your gaze.

And, lolling last week in our holiday caravan, fortified by mugs of hot, strong tea, I watched as the golden, early morning sun inched its way across the sofa and cushions opposite me, and up onto the pale wall to the right – and here is the scene.

Exposure is reduced to saturate the colours and, equally importantly, to lose various extraneous details in the shadows.  Looking at the image from left to right, the gloriously red cushion rests on the sofa opposite me and, at upper right, the sunlight is creeping across onto a slightly paler wall.  And the shadows of the blind’s thin slats play over most of it.

21 Apr 2015; West Bay, Dorset.  D800 with 16-35 Nikkor at 35mm; 400 ISO.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

13 Responses to STILL LIFE 23 – THE SUN, SHINING THROUGH BLINDS ONTO CUSHIONS

  1. You’re funny 😉
    I love ‘adhering’ to the couch myself. I’ll need to take note of how the sun plays out over time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad to make you smile – its therapeutic, and causing people to do it is one of my Life Aims.

      In terms of relaxation, you could do far worse than adhering to some substrate (google it – but dahlinggg, just highbrow can I get???) for sometime, just Being instead of Doing Doing Doing – and one thing to notice while adhering is the very slow and gentle way the play of light on things changes as time passes. A glass of wine may enhance the experience but, of course, this Path leads to unconsciousness, which is nice too, albeit a tad less perceptive. Toodle Pip … to go … and with a side of fondness … shaken but not stirred ….. from …. ATP xxx 🙂

      Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Comfortably relaxing. 🙂
    I imagine you to be as comfortably relaxed watching the slatted shadows drape over the cushions as I was watching my rainbow move across my clock the other morning. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Absolutely, definitely, just as comfortable as you were! Maybe we were both Being then, instead of always Doing. A 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sallyann says:

        I have a couple of weeks off to catch up on some doing before the big day om Saturday. I have another relatively busy day ahead, but at the moment I’m lounging on the kitchen settee, watching the birds play in the trees in the carpark beyond the end of our garden.
        I haven’t seen the sparrows yet, maybe they’re having a lie-in, the doves are back, normally there are just two but today they have a visitor, two magpies hopped about for a little while then took off in convoy, a huge black crow swoops in and out of my picture but the red kites are gone now, they were circling above for a while. Ah, the sparrows are here, maybe the arrival of the sparrows and the disappearance of the red kite are connected. 🙂

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Its good to lounge! Yes, the sparrows may well keep a very low profile while Old Kitey is around. And you know its so exciting >>> I’m off to buy hats!!!!!! Can’t wait …. 🙂 ….

          Liked by 1 person

          • Sallyann says:

            Oooh I love hats… have fun. 🙂

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              There are some things in this world that just have to be, and your love of hats is one of those things – if you had avowed otherwise, Gentle Madam, I would have been outraged at your perfidy! Oooo, doesn’t he speak nice! Well, yes, he does, Madam, and now that he’s got two hats with wide brims … do I detect a little of the je ne sais quoi … the Orson Wells … or more possibly the Norman Clegg … about him? …….

              Liked by 1 person

  3. paula graham says:

    True..well said..I do not do enough of that passtime! Nice photo, truly arty. Do mail me if and when you and lady wife/partner are near… Love to see you (bring camera, as I am always so interested in seeing what others see of the same area)

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I probably do too much of it!!! Glad you like the pic – something different, I thought. And thanks for the invite – also let us know when you’re up this way too. A 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

