ANNIVERSARY – FATMAN PHOTOS IS FOUR!

 

 

This man is photographing you!

(Image: People 199)

.

My first post on this blog was on 26 April 2011, and that seems a very long time ago now.  In fact I seem always to have been blogging, but of course that’s not true.  Well, what to say after four years?  “Unaccustomed as I am to speaking in private ……..”

.

First,  THANKS! THANKS! THANKS! to everyone who has looked at, liked or commented upon my pictures –  and especially to those who have chosen to press the “Sign me up” button.  I’m very grateful for your support and good words.   The blogosphere is a big place, starting out in it can be a distinctly lonely experience, and I can very well remember putting out that first, tentative post.  Now, four years down the line, its very good to have good friends and colleagues –  like minded people – around the world.

.

Do I have any regrets about starting blogging?  Definitely not.  It can be quite hard work, particularly for those who choose to post frequently and to follow lots of other blogs.  But there is no compulsion.  Everyone is free to do as they please, to do just what suits them – and that is a wonderful state of affairs!

.

What do I like most about blogging?  A real priority for me at this time in my life is to use photography and the written word creatively, and a blog is an ideal vehicle for such endeavours.  I have been taking photographs for 55 years or more, but creating images has really been my thing since 2003.  The vast creative potential unleashed by the arrival of good quality digital photography has been a great help – albeit that it took dear old conservative me until 2009 to switch to digital working >>> oh and by the way, that’s definitely conservative with a small “c”!!!   And blogging has provided vast amounts of motivation – without it, I just don’t think I would have had the (at times quite insane) energy and drive.

.

As you know, a photograph can be circulated to the world at the touch of a button – and, being old enough to remember life without even a television, I never cease to be amazed at how fast people on the other side of the planet can have opinions on something that I’ve only just posted – it can be a matter of seconds and I find that very impressive indeed.  And, to me, my photography has improved over these past four years: this probably reflects a combination of capturing better images and better understanding how to use processing software.  Re these things, I’m grateful in particular to a 70-300 zoom that is my almost constant companion on photographic sorties, and to a 12-24 zoom that has enabled new outlooks on the world – oh, and to a very quick 105 too, which is just wonderful with people.

.

And I very much enjoy writing about my and others’ images, and about photography generally, too – the contact with like minds is a vast stimulant.  Finally, making hard copies of my blog in photo books created on Blurb has proved ideal – and especially so in a world where the future longevity and accessibility of digital images appears increasingly uncertain – for which see this post – put simply, if you really value an image, make a hard copy.

.

So, where to from here?  Well, my years are catching up with me a bit and I no longer have quite the energy I once had – I suppose you could say that I’m retired and, sometimes, tired too.   But, I have no forecasts – as usual I suppose, let’s just play it by ear … 🙂

.

Finally, and once more, thank you all for your friendship and support.

.

Adrian

.

.garden_162X

 .

newq_382a
.

39320020X

.

ADL36_1X
.

Spectacled Owl
.

ADL361X
.

udz_077StrongInfraredLowContrastX
.

Selfie in the Magic Carpark
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

41 Responses to ANNIVERSARY – FATMAN PHOTOS IS FOUR!

  1. Malin H says:

    First of all – Congratulations! And time flies you know…
    Second of all – Thanks for everything. I really enjoy your blog and I’m so glad I met you. Keep up the good work, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. steveo says:

    Congrats on four! Looking forward to five and many more.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sonali Dalal says:

    Happy anniversary!! It seems I have returned at the right time to your blog :):) I must say I have thoroughly enjoyed not only your photography but your insights, your readings and your friendship. Yes, I have been missing or irregular visitor since last few months but my life has really become very hectic. May be I have taken too much on my head!! So something or other takes a backseat. Sometimes I get constrained by my bad back and sometimes by pure laziness. But always always I remember you and your lovely blog and then the guilt of not visitng it regularly takes over.

    I am not very far away from retirement, and will soon join your league. I hope i will be as active as you. You have always been an inspiration for me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Sonali, its very good to hear from you – maybe you have taken on too much, who knows? Anyway I hope you’re fine – and that retirement will be a good and rewarding time for you. Thank you very much for the good things you say. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sonali Dalal says:

        Yes , I am fine. 🙂 though I like this phase of my life where I keep myself busy with job, family, travelling, photography, friends, reading etc. Retirement is few years away but by that time I want to keep myself more and more busy. Thanks 🙂

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Well, my friend, we are all of us different from each other, you see Life through your eyes, I through mine – so I can only speak for myself. And for me, keeping more and more busy is not the whole thing. Certainly, keeping busy may be good for us both mentally and physically, but I’m using some of the free time that I now have to appreciate and to think about things more, to reflect on Life and so on – and to think about Being rather than always Doing – thinking more about The Now maybe. Adrian

          Liked by 1 person

          • Sonali Dalal says:

            I completely understand your viewpoint. But when I see my father, 82 and quite active, I feel guilty about not being active. I work six full days a week, in a demanding job. So that takes care of major part of my day. Then I spend time with my aged parents , go for a walk and exercise. So actually it hardly leave me time for myself. In whatever time I get I read, I write, I photograph, edit, study photography, meet friends, blog. All this combined make my life hectic. And I thoroughly enjoy it. I also need to travel for my work, albeit short trips. But that is the most enjoyable part of my job. My health is improving giving me chance to do all this after gap of few years. I take advantage of that. Once I retire after few years, I want to keep myself busy and active. Hence getting into habit of it. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s been our pleasure. xxx ATP xxx

    Like

  5. Congratulations Adrian 🙂 🙂 Along with many others, I am delighted to have met you through the blogosphere and thank you for both your images and your kind words of encouragement (oh, and reminders of home)!

    Like

  6. alan frost says:

    Congratulations Adrian. I so enjoy your images and the text which accompanies them. I have only been following your blog for a relatively short time, and I am looking forward to the next four years….keep shooting, writing and posting!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. paula graham says:

    Happy Anniversary, Adrian…and many more years of service to this blog to come! I too am an avid follower and admirer even.

    Like

  8. Happy 4th Anniversary, Adrian! I love seeing all your photographs. Cheers to many more years! sheila

    Like

  9. Happy Anniversary! I love the selfie!! 😉 Seriously, your photos are fantastic – always very original …. keep up the excellent work!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. karijeppesen says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary in the blog world…(…smiling and smiling…)
    …and please Adrian, continue to play…

    Like

  11. Abigail says:

    Happy anniversary Adrian! Thank you for helping me out back then. All the best to you and your blog for the many years to come! 😀

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Abigail, thank you very much, its very good to hear from you! Did you get a camera – and how is photography going? I hope you’re doing fine! Adrian 🙂

      Like

      • Abigail says:

        Yes I did! Nikon D3200. I’m currently experimenting with the various modes. Recently, I’m trying to get a hang of using the manual function.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Oh, a Nikon, good good good! >>> go for it!!! Using Manual will teach you a lot, like adjusting the shutter speed and aperture to get the right amount of light onto the sensor (the correct exposure), and you’ll also need to think about whether you want a high shutter speed to freeze motion or a low one to introduce motion blur. And, also, be aware that the aperture governs how much of the image you have in focus – a large aperture (eg f2.8) gives you shallow depth of field ie not a lot in focus but some (hopefully!!!) lovely out of focus effects; whereas a small aperture (eg f16) gets much more into focus (ie a larger depth of field or focus).

          Later, when you’re more up with things, try using Aperture Priority mode >>> you choose the aperture to govern how much will be in focus, and the camera sets the correct shutter speed. I always use Aperture Priority >>> but its less useful if you intend shooting fast things eg sports – then use Shutter Priority. Hope this is useful. Adrian 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  12. Helen Cherry says:

    I have so enjoyed your blog Adrian, and am only sorry that I have been so absent recently.. life has seriously got in the way and I have not posted myself for a while ( though I think you might like my last one 😉 I do get an email delivered very time you post so am still seeing and enjoying your lovely work even though not often commenting .. keep on keeping on !

    Like

  13. Sallyann says:

    Whey hey! Whoop whoop.! Many many congrats… and for my part, looking forward to the next four. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

