ARCHIVE 146 – CONTENTS OF A GUTTER

 

 

ADL577X
.
Contents of a gutter in Portwall Lane, central Bristol – small plant, dog end, massage parlour advert; 11 Apr 2004.

I was initially drawn to this scene because of its colours and graphic qualities – the dark, broken kerb stones that form the left margin, the street’s bluish cobbles and the raggedly painted, yellow line that denotes restricted parking.  It was only when I got down for a closer look that the other components appeared – and people started giving me strange looks –  but what the heck!

OM-4 with 21mm Zuiko – a small, light combo and an ideal companion when crawling around gutters and parking bays; Fuji Provia 400 colour slide rated at 3200 ISO.

UPDATE: “dog end” is Brit vernacular for a cigarette butt; we are a cultured nation.  And I don’t tend to crawl around gutters quite so much these days because I no longer have that wonderfully diminutive camera and lens, while age is making my joints rather less flexible than they used to be … and its so embarrassing when you have to ask passersby … to help you get up again …

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

15 Responses to ARCHIVE 146 – CONTENTS OF A GUTTER

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Fantastic!

    Like

  2. Helen Cherry says:

    Striking ! Try cropping the 2 top layers of bricks? or even cropping to square format.. they all work ! Love it

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Ha, ha…yes…watch out you do not get into the gutter, I say. One of the better gutter pictures I have ever seen!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, I shall eschew gutters … except when in my cups maybe … And I love your second sentence – I may have to include it in my CV! 😀 >>> I’m glad you like the picture – thank you! A 🙂

      Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    At first I thought the yellow line was lichen. I like your abstract composition and color interplay. And yes, asking passersby to help one up again–that’s ever more realistic!

    Like

  5. Sallyann says:

    I know exactly where you’re coming from. In time gone by I was often to be found on my knees filling the bottom shelf. A passing comment of “say one for me while you’re down there” would often extract the reply,”I’m praying I can get back up”. 🙂
    More recently though, I’d be praying for the foresight not to get back down again next time. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

