ARCHIVE 144 – IN NEWQUAY AQUARIUM (MONO)

 

 

newq_046cX
.
Newquay Aquarium, Cornwall; 13 Sept 2011.

I love photographing close in to animals and to plants too, and getting them large in the frame or filling it completely.  And even if I can’t fill the frame, its good to exclude – or at least blur –  all extraneous detail, so that the viewer is right in there with whatever it might be.  Aquariums (sorry, can’t bring myself to say “aquaria”!) are good places for this, albeit that the photographer faces many problems – low light levels, myriad reflections, people in the frame etc etc.

So, using the same strategy as for photographing children who are bouncing around off all the walls, when I’m in an aquarium and something hits me visually, I take many shots of it – isn’t digital wonderful? – trying to make each and every shot count.  And of course many, many shots are failures, in terms of technique, composition or, not infrequently, both.  But usually there are one or two promising ones amongst all the dross, and I home in on these.

D700 with 24-120 Nikkor at 120mm; 6400 ISO;  Silver Efex Pro 2.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

25 Responses to ARCHIVE 144 – IN NEWQUAY AQUARIUM (MONO)

  1. Sonali Dalal says:

    Wow!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. krikitarts says:

    I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of photograph sessions in aquariums. Good work, Adrian!

    Like

  3. Sallyann says:

    I’m often to be found using the scatter gun approach, I very seldom have the confidence to take just one photo and usually delete more pictures than I keep, as you say, thank goodness for digital. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is so very cool. It looks like an X-ray. Or is that just my phone?
    xxxATPxxx

    Like

  5. He’s fabulous! I would never have thought of doing a lionfish in mono but, boy, does it work 🙂

    Like

  6. Orpheus Eye says:

    That’s such an awesome picture!

    Like

  7. Nice shot! I did a huge graphic design illustration of an almost identical image that I shot back in the 1970’s. Very cool looking. 🙂

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

