SOMERSET LEVELS 217 – FANTASY IN INFRARED

 

 

Fantasy in infrared
.
Mist on Tadham Moor, and the road past the Magic Carpark given the look of colour infrared film, courtesy of Nik’s excellent Color Efex Pro 4 image editing software.

One of my aims with this blog is to present a variety of imagery.  This is both to stimulate and perhaps even enthral those looking at these posts – and also to keep myself on my toes in terms of imagination and creativity.  Producing a blog with a constant theme might be a way to attract a large and loyal number of viewers who enjoy that theme, but I have to hold up my hands and admit to not being able to resist going here and there, following where my imagination takes me, and here is an example.

Its a core belief of mine that its always worth looking long and hard at images – and I (and many others too) have found that returning to an image weeks, months or even years after it was captured can and does inspire new ideas and new ways of looking at it.  Indeed, some photographers make a point of never working on their images soon after they have been taken but, instead, of always coming back to them some days or even weeks after the event – with fresh minds and well rested eyes.

I am not returning to this particular image long after it was taken, but I have subjected it to another of my core routines, which is to look at it long and hard before deciding upon what, if anything, to do with it.  What sorts of things to I think about in this situation? – well, colour/mono/both, possible types of crop, potential for rotation/flipping, effects of various software edits, etc.

And experimenting (which is another way of saying “playing around”!) in Color Efex Pro 4 I came upon this infrared colour film filter, and was instantly attracted by its effect here.  There are of course the mysterious silhouettes and the warm orange glow, but this is not like simply using some kind of orange filter because the colours of the tarmac road and its grass verges are still faintly visible.  Whether this image will stand the test of time – whether I’ll still like it in a month’s or year’s time – is another matter but, for now, here it is.

Other thoughts.  Does it represent reality?  No, of course not but, as I say, I like the look of it, and if I like the look of it – its in! 🙂

And fantasy – well, ok, what’s out there beyond those “last two trees”?  If you’re a Tolkien fan, are we standing on the edge of the desolation wrought by the dragon Smaug, looking out on a land ravaged by his fire and covered by rolling clouds of glowing smoke?  I’ll go along with that.  And who, or what, is going to appear in all that smoke, dimly seen at first but growing ever more stark, as they trudge up this road trying to escape a vast and monstrous foe that, for all of their lives, has just been an old and half-forgotten legend, the stuff of childhood nightmares, the stuff of fireside tales?

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

8 Apr 2015. D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 230mm; 200 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.

UPDATE: its possible that I inadvertently published this image before I intended to – my apologies if you have in fact received two emails about it!
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 217 – FANTASY IN INFRARED

  1. krikitarts says:

    Great idea, and masterfully applied! I can almost see Ichabod Crane approaching through the distant mist…

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Is that a Scoutmaster and some little scouts I see coming into view through the smog… Or do I spy Gandalf and a handful of little hobbits through the Smaug breath instead… I wonder. 🙂

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    Certainly looks very striking. Well processed and presented and seen, of course.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

