SOMERSET LEVELS 216 – A WONDERFUL SURPRISE (MONO)

 

 

A wonderful surprise.

Click onto this image to see it more clearly: a larger version will open in a separate window.

I had a wonderful surprise yesterday (8 Apr).  I was out early in thick mist on Tealham Moor, seeing not a lot through the viewfinder but firing off frames into the murk regardless, knowing that the pictures would be better seen and comprehended on my PC’s screen.  (As a side note, I kept the camera on +2/3 stops exposure compensation to better capture the mist’s delicate nuances).

Anyway, I took two pictures of a metal gate and its wooden side rails next to a water-filled ditch and, in the first picture, looking at it on the PC at home, that’s what I got – the gate, the ditch and the mist.

But in the second picture (shown above), which was taken only moments after the first, there is a diminutive but very distinctive silhouette on the gate’s wooden side rails – sometime in the 13 seconds between the first and second shots, a Kingfisher had landed on the fence, to use it as a vantage point for spotting fish in the waters below >>> and, busy taking the picture, I had been quite unaware of it!

Wow, bring it on, Nature simply never fails to get to me!  I am of course an ex-birder with a vast regard for birds, but a Natural event like this is to me something fundamentally simple – as well as being something priceless, something quite beyond value, which certainly lifts my quality of life.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; Dfine 2; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Darken Contrast Vignette preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

27 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 216 – A WONDERFUL SURPRISE (MONO)

  1. Helen Cherry says:

    I love it when you get something unexpected in your photos and often don’t see them until you get the photo up on the big screen.. 🙂

    Like

  2. I just have to give you a comment to this fantastic image…
    I simply love it; the atmosphere is marvellous, the light, the composition, and the kingfisher just like a tiny but important element. This image I can look at so many times and every time come up with a new step to take in. This image belongs to a gallery for many more people to enjoy on an exhibition! Fantastic Adrian! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful, Adrian; really beautiful.

    Like

  4. Malin H says:

    Now this one is so atmospheric… and the Kingfisher is the icing on the cake. 🙂 Wonderful tones too.

    Like

  5. krikitarts says:

    Woohooo–a bonus bird! I think you may well have a distant relative of my Frances on your side! Love your lighting in this one and that you didn’t over-lighten it to maintain the mood of murky mystery. Is that a hound I hear in the distance?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      A hound? now there’s something – are you also a fan of Things Baskervillian, because I certainly am – and Dartmoor is not at all far from here! And there are reports of Big Cats on the Levels, tho I’ve never managed to see one.

      A relative of your Frances would be just great – I hope you’re right! I do have my paternal grandmother Hester, a great hero of mine – whether she’s still watching over me I don’t know, tho I’d love to think so, but what she has certainly done is to leave me (and my cousin) a taste of her creative abilities.

      And oh yes, keeping this murky was a must. It is not too far off the actual look of the scene – I’d thought the mist was going to burn off as the sun rose, but it all stayed dark and murky.

      Thanks for your thoughts, my friend! A

      Like

  6. paula graham says:

    Wow..super photo and a KINGFISHER as a reward..oh my. Gorgeous. You have my admiration.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you! Its rather ironic that my only other picture of a Kingfisher is one that perched over our neighbours’ fish pond for a day – its a far more detailed portrait than this, but with zero atmosphere. That I was lucky with this Levels shot is one of Life’s great understatements! A

      Like

  7. Carrie says:

    Such a beautifully powerful image and the Kingfisher adds the perfect touch to the feeling of this image. Great story, nature is wild and worth our time!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Fantastic shot – very atmospheric.

    Like

  9. karijeppesen says:

    …wonderful, Adrian – the image and the story to go along… (…smiling so much…)

    Like

  10. Sallyann says:

    Bring it on indeed, a beautiful moment to catch. 🙂

    Like

  11. iosatel says:

    Just great!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

