BRISTOL 87 – WET AFTERNOON, GOING HOME

 

 

Wet afternoon, going home
.

Going home.  Sitting glumly on a bus near Bristol’s Temple Meads railway station, while the rain streamed down and the dull winter’s afternoon grew ever duller.  It was sometime in February 2006, and the day had nothing in mind other than to expire gratefully, unremembered, into the darkness and anonymity of a wet night.

But I do remember this afternoon clearly – mainly thanks to this photo I suppose.  I was sitting in my favourite seat, right up in the front on the upper deck of the bus, but even that could not dispel the feelings of drabness and gloom brought on by the cold and damp weather – and, let’s face it, no approach to Temple Meads station passes through any of Bristol’s more attractive quarters.

The bus in front is covered is a vast green advert for Asda supermarkets, and to the right of it, alone on a traffic island, is a derelict hotel.   The red lights bring a touch of colour to the otherwise drab scene, and the rain spattered window recalls my feeling at that moment of wanting to be anywhere else in the world but stuck on this damned bus!

Click onto the image to see a larger version of all this dreadfulness in a separate window.

Olympus XA2 with Fuji Provia 400 colour slide film rated at 800 ISO – and fellow passengers all too audibly wondering what the hell this fat weirdo was doing taking pictures from a bus on a rainy day …
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to BRISTOL 87 – WET AFTERNOON, GOING HOME

  1. Meanderer says:

    Love this, Adrian. There’s something wonderfully nostalgic about it.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hi, M! Yes there is nostalgia here, a hint of days gone by >>> but I’m not sure they’re days I want to go back to! But glad it gets to you – thank you! Oh god, downed a definitely suspect breakfast on my way home from the Levels on Wednesday and it has laid me low but I’m feeling better now = hoisted with my own petard!!! A 😀

      Like

  2. poppytump says:

    Glad you’re not seeing this on a regular basis now then Adrian ! Oh it’s grim travelling on a bus in miserable weather like this . guess the only comfort being that you were dry 😀

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Good to hear from you, Poppy! Yes, I’m extremely glad to be out of the travelling back and fore to work game – just thinking about that time is dreadful! How are you getting on? I hope you’re well and happy! A 🙂

      Like

  3. Sallyann says:

    Ok, calling Pollyanna here, a little girl who when life dealt her a bad hand would play the “glad game”. I’ve never actually seen the film, but my Nana was almost as well known for the glad game as Pollyanna was and taught us all to play it too. 🙂
    So, let’s see…
    We’re sat on the bus, let’s be glad we have a seat, we could have been standing in the Isle downstairs holding onto one of those ceiling straps, hoping upon hope that the land of deodorant holds out for the whole of the journey. Oh, and not just any seat, we have the “cinema seat”, the full screen, ever changing, view of the outside. A little scary at times when the bus in front is almost near enough to touch, but a fun way to watch the world moving below you on the ground outside.
    Oh yes, I forgot, it’s raining and the rain on the cinema window in front of you is obscuring your view. Ah, but let’s be glad that we’re sitting on the bus, and not outside, we’re in relative dry comfort compared to the little people outside, pulling their coats ever closer, their brollies battling to keep their heads dry while all the time their feet become wetter and wetter.
    And the rain on the windows, have you ever taken your camera into a car wash with you (inside your car of course), you really should sometime . 😀
    And of course we’re on our way home, I’m so glad we’re not on the way to work, somehow getting damp on the way home is never quite so bad as on the way to work. you can arrive home to a warm shower, a change of clothes, maybe even pj’s, and a huge mug of warming coffee, in a mug big enough to give you a hug back when you hold it with both hands.
    Oh, and just one last thing, when you next look at your picture and remember your journey, you can be glad you had company and didn’t have to travel alone… unless of course I’ve been really annoying playing the glad game, and then you can just be glad I wasn’t there. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      The glad game, eh, well not a bad idea I suppose – I will definitely give it some thought – now is that enthusiasm or is that enthusiasm???!!!

      But I do like the hope that the deodorant would hold out – and the allusion to a coffee mug big enough to give a hug back.

      And you’re never annoying, your company would have been appreciated! 🙂

      Like

      • Sallyann says:

        Oh you really should give it a go, it’s pulled me up out of many a downwards spiral. 🙂
        Little Sister plays it often too, and if ever things are looking really bleak we just have to send just one word, “Pollyanna”, and we can both be confident that a spare smile will soon be on its way. 😀

        Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Wonderfully portrayed in every way. I love the third red light on the left. Super stuff.

    Like

  5. That is more or less what I see twice a day – only my commute is Leeds. Great shot…and well done for having the courage to take it too 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      James, I don’t know why, but I sort of assumed that you’re retired too – well, I’m wrong! Do you travel by bus? I used to. I found that going into work in central Bristol on the bus wasn’t too bad but I wished I wasn’t doing it >>> but, especially after I reached 60, I was so knackered on the journey home that little managed to register, which was good I suppose – except that I had to be careful not to sleep on and get taken on past my stop!

      And as for courage, well I have to say that I’m now not so happy strolling around town with my damned great Nikon – but in any case I’m far happier out in the country and that’s where I mostly go. But of course anyone straying away from “the standard modes of behaviour” gets stared at – and recently I had some bandages on my face after a minor operation and many stared at me then too – but many people do stare, they simply lack the ability to understand that satisfying their own immediate curiosity might be uncomfortable for others. Of course I’m not old, bitter and twisted, I’m quite young ….. 🙂 ….. >>> thank you for your thoughts! A

      Like

      • I am 60 on Wednesday Adrian. Still a few years till I retire, and judging by the state of my pension I may have to work for a few years after 😢 The commute is a nightmare… the bus is expensive and unreliable and I have to get up at 5:45 each morning just to get to work on time. Still the benefit of that is that on weekends when I can sleep in my body clock has woken me up at dawn and that is a good time to take photos 😊

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Well happy birthday yesterday, and many more of them!!! – a fundamental part of my make up is that I’m always early for everything, so I used to get up at 5am to be in work for 7am – when work opened – so that I could leave at 3pm, and so have more of the day left – although in all honesty I’m not sure I did too much in “the remains of the day”! Now I’m retired I’m still often up at 5am – tho I must admit to vastly enjoying naps later in the day! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • Thanks Adrian – it is actually next Wednesday (15), but thanks very much for your wishes 🙂 I get home about 5, which isn’t too bad as the moors are on my doorstep and I can get out for an hour or so after tea – or when Shirl is watching her soaps and doesn’t know I am gone 🙂

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              James, I’m glad to know that I’m not suffering alone – my wife is also a soaps fanatic – I have to say that I find them physically painful, in particular so many of them seem to consist of people being nasty to each other! A

              Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this one, Adrian; well composed moment and the red lights make it special.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

