MENDIP HILLS 37 – FORESTRY PLANTATION

 

 

Forestry plantation
.
Forestry plantation east of North Hill; 6 Apr 2015.

A sapling, with last year’s leaves caught by the low sun, rising up amongst the dark and towering pines.

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO; Colour Efex Pro 4.
.
.

.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

20 Responses to MENDIP HILLS 37 – FORESTRY PLANTATION

  1. krikitarts says:

    A fitting combination of past glory and current hope. Most appropriate at this special time of year, and much appreciated!

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Lovely,.is the spring sunshine slowly seeping into your world too? 🙂

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    Love the painterly quality of this, Adrian.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad you like it, M, thank you! I was down on the Levels again today, in quite thick mist – and had a wonderful surprise! Firing off frames into the murk, I’ve returned home to find that whereas one picture shows a bare fence >>> another taken immediately after has that fence providing a perch for – a Kingfisher! – which good old Birdy Birdbrain here saw not at all when he was taking the shot! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Meanderer says:

        How lovely – and a wonderful surprise, Adrian. It is really rather special to see one of these beautiful creatures – even if it is later on when looking through the images!

        Hope you are getting the sunshine and warm temps that we have been enjoying in these parts. Leaves are opening everywhere, and the birds are very lively!

        Like

  4. This surprised me. A little more dash of color than you’ve been capturing lately. It’s nice. I like it. xxx ATP xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. paula graham says:

    Oh Yes., I love it …seen it so often and never managed to photograph it like you have. Very good, lovely colours and composition.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. richholschuh says:

    Lovely, dark and deep.

    Like

  7. I really like this…beautiful colours and excellent lighting

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      James, I’m very glad it gets to you – thank you very much! I was in fact photographing in the opposite direction, but I always try to remember to keep looking all around – and there behind me was the sun pouring in through these conifers. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Malin H says:

    Wonderful, my friend. Absolutely wonderful image…
    I actually look at this one as a self portrait – you are rising up. Fantastic light and excellent captured!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you for your good words, Malin – thinking of it as a self-portrait is not something that would have occurred to me, your views are always valued. I hope I am rising up, that would be good. And I hope you’re doing well, too, I hope you’re very well. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

