TALKING IMAGES 15 – APPLES, PEARS AND PAINT, A BBC4 PROGRAM

.

I really enjoyed this 90 minute BBC4 program on Still Life painting – its crowded with wonderful images, I found it definitely inspiring, and it does also touch on photography.

.

Broadcast last Tuesday, it can still be found on catch-up TV, and here are BBC links for it –

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03ny8wk

.

I’ve often talked about Western eyes viewing images from left to right, which may be a product of the direction in which we read and write.   There are times when I take into account this left to right tendency when thinking about photographic compositions.

.

And so a most interesting statement made in this program is that the great majority of Still Life paintings are lit from the left – with the point being made that this may well be due to our left to right visual tendencies – our eyes pass across images from the left, and so lighting images from the left ensures that we see a series of lit objects, rather than a series of shadowed ones.

.

Another fascinating fact is that, for reasons of religion, Still Life painting died out after Roman times, being absent from medieval art before being revived by a revolutionary study by Caravaggio just after 1600.

.

.

.

 

 

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

4 Responses to TALKING IMAGES 15 – APPLES, PEARS AND PAINT, A BBC4 PROGRAM

  1. Sallyann says:

    Hiya. I’ve noted your advice before about left to right reading and often thought about it when using a path or something to walk you into my picture.
    Thanks for the gentle reminder. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. paula graham says:

    Interesting post..think what you may but Still life painting is not something that speaks to me much…lack of feeling on my part..I am sure!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m partly with you there, Paula, I don’t find still life photography over rewarding, but I have to say that many of the paintings shown in this program were striking – and there were very interesting thoughts too – I might talk about one of them in TI16! Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

