ARCHIVE 140 – YELLOW CAR

 

 

ADL63X
.

Sports car, Wells, Somerset; 1 May 2005.

Ninety degree anticlockwise rotation moves the wheel to the bottom right of the shot, with the door handle, bodywork and shadow now forming strong features dipping steeply left.

The wonderful yellow of the car’s body produces strong contrast between the silver and black wheel and the other picture elements.

F6 with 80-200 Nikkor.  Fuji Provia 400 colour slide push processed to 800 ISO.

UPDATE 2015: there was a time when I photographed quite a few of these automotive abstracts – this one was done 10 years ago –  but they’ve gone somewhat off my radar these days.  But I still like this image, I still see it as I did then, as an artificial object with deep inherent beauty – and I wonder if, were I to be processing this shot now, whether I’d be tempted to try and “clean” the small amounts of dirt off the bodywork at upper right.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

8 Responses to ARCHIVE 140 – YELLOW CAR

  1. Helen Cherry says:

    Great crop and rotation..

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Ah ha, reading between the lines (because there are less words there which makes it easier to read) do you suppose the pretty cars have gone off your radar because people don’t take the time to wax and polish anymore.? 🙂
    There’s an oldish navy jag near my house, it’s on my walk to town and it’s beautifully cared for. I often stop and admire it as I pass, but I couldn’t tell you what other cars are in the same street, let alone what colour they are 😀

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Well all I do know with certainty is that I’m one of those who don’t wax and polish any more, and that goes for my car too – the FATmanMobile is bedecked with dust, mud and other best not mentioned Levels substances, and it has lichen and cobwebs on it too – and I know for sure that its on my neighbour’s radar because he’s had it washed and cleaned for me more than once – we do live in a very sought after postcode area, after all. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Is that a corvette? No matter. Sweet!
    xxx ATP xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. paula graham says:

    Wonderful deep colours, that is for sure.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

