ARCHIVE 138 – PORTRAIT OF A GULL 2 (MONO)

 

 

sdt_558aX
.
Immature Black-headed Gull, Heron’s Green, Chew Valley Lake, Somerset; 31 Dec 2011.

By not placing this inquisitive face centrally in the shot, it has arrived at a strong point in the composition (around the intersection of the left and upper thirds), and it also suggests the effect of the bird peering around a corner, or perhaps looking in through a window at us.

There is a slightly pink flush to the bill which could have been restored, but I think the shot more effective in pure, Minimalist mono.

D700 with 80-400 Nikkor at 400mm; 3200 ISO; converted to mono, and toned, in Silver Efex Pro 2.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

10 Responses to ARCHIVE 138 – PORTRAIT OF A GULL 2 (MONO)

  1. krikitarts says:

    It’s just great that you were able to catch the gull looking directly at you, with its features in perfect bilateral symmetry. And yet, somehow, at the same time, I can’t get out of my mind an unforgettable scene in Finding Nemo, in which the gulls are all looking at a proffered crab who is reluctant to divulge important information, and all of them are crying: “Mine! Mine! Mine!”

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Finding Nemo is a film I haven’t seen – but glad you’re reminded of it. I don’t see many films, but I can recommend “Mr Turner”, about the later years of the artist JMW Turner, a hero of mine. The film inspires me. A

      Like

  2. Fabulous! I love this SO much!

    Like

  3. Nelson says:

    You have reinvented the gull photo. I do not see close-up like that with this bird

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    Yea..for me the best of the gulls so far..intriguing, attractive and well processed.

    Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

