ARCHIVE 137 – PORTRAIT OF A GULL (MONO)

 

 

cor_397AntiquePlate1X
.

Herring Gull: adult in winter plumage, St Ives, Cornwall; 27 Sept 2012.

A subject close to my heart, for not only did I grow up with the raucous screams and crowings of gulls all around, but birding was my passion in the period 1967-2002.  I no longer look at birds  as a birder, but they do continue to give me immense pleasure – they are an essential part of any landscape or waterscape, and they positively raise the quality of my life.

This individual is sitting on a wall, but I wanted to show nothing but the bird and its overcast backdrop and so have cropped the wall out.  Mono simplifies the picture, and gives the impression of  a tough and rugged individual used to enduring the dull, overcast, wintery conditions.

These birds have pure white heads in summer, but this one has the streaked head and neck that appear later in the year.

I like the detail in the feathering at lower left, especially the single feather sticking up from the rest.

Click onto the image to see a (much!) larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; converted to mono with Silver Efex Pro 2, starting from the Antique Plate 1 preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to ARCHIVE 137 – PORTRAIT OF A GULL (MONO)

  1. Malin H says:

    Well written as usual, my friend. And you are so good at capturing the individual… Wonderful portrait!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like that one feather too. It’s a renegade! Lovely photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nelson says:

    The nice thing about gulls is they are easy to catch on cam, something that we cannot say about every bird species

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

