ARCHIVE 136 – ABSTRACTION IN SUNLIGHT, PADSTOW

.

ADL99X

.
Sunlit steps up to a house in Padstow, Cornwall; 26 Apr 2006. 

This picture is upside down, which produces an abstract effect. 

The stones in the brightly sunlit wall of the house seem now to be illuminated from below, and are powerfully parallel. 

And, at the top of the image, the steps with their dense black shadows now appear as sharply angular columns rising from a multi-coloured floor.

Leica Minilux; Fuji Provia 400 colour slide rated at 400 ISO; vertically flipped.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

17 Responses to ARCHIVE 136 – ABSTRACTION IN SUNLIGHT, PADSTOW

  1. Malin H says:

    I really like this abstraction, my friend. Thanks for sharing from your archive. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Malin, sharing it is my pleasure! I’m glad you like it. It was taken on the only Leica I’ve ever owned – which has now been part-exchanged for digital cameras! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  2. dave says:

    The flip totally got me!

    Like

  3. If you’re going to keep turning things upside down and inside out, I’m gonna get dizzy!
    Cool shot!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Cure for dizziness? Well there’s simply no alternative but to drink heavily – trust me, I’m a …

      Thanks for liking the shot! 🙂

      Played table tennis yesterday with a man who had to keep sitting down for a rest – because he was aged 80!!!, but he was still a really good player. ATP xxx

      Like

      • I’m waiting for you to tell me you kick butt. Come on! And 80-year-old? You had to have whooped him good. 😉
        And GOOD FOR HIM!

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          I don’t think I whooped him, I think he won some games, maybe I should start on sterabolic analoids or something. Yes, good for him, and I must say he doesn’t look his age at all. Kick butt? Well, I can manage unbridled aggression, smashing at everything, and sizzling topspin. That do you? A xxx

          Liked by 1 person

          • That’ll do. 😉

            Liked by 1 person

          • krikitarts says:

            I want full information on your source for sterobolic analoids! (Please forgive the intuitive spelling correction; it sounds a little better to my ear, but the second half is still a bit too close to nether region problems).

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              OMG, its a Saturday dawn and Inspector Bolstad is inspecting … no, take a rain check on that ambulance … INspecting … thought you’d want to get to the bottom of this … and there is in fact a place near here called Nether Stowey but … don’t ask … and it wasn’t me, it was the One-Armed Man … sorry, lurching into Maskland now ….

              The source for my sterabolics? Well its that old woman who hangs around the shopping centre …. I thought everyone knew that …

              OK, OK, Bolstad, its FATmanspeak for anabolic steroids – a desperate stab at humour … 🙂 …

              Like

              • krikitarts says:

                I knew that from first glance, but I thought that “sterobolic” sounded closer to home than “sterabolic,” though yours was equally considered and intuitive. I still think that your new term “analoids” is worthy of more late-night discussion under the influence of single-malt inspiration (ahem. I admit, however, to some confusion re your references to the one-armed man and Maskland. As to the old woman in the shopping centre, aaah, you mean the one with the green skin, the stripey stockings, and the pointy hat. No confusion there.

                Liked by 1 person

                • Adrian Lewis says:

                  Which woman do you mean? And Maskland, that’s my love for the wacky humour in the film (movie!) The Mask, which I just think wonderful. Late night malts – wonderful idea! 🙂

                  Like

  4. Sallyann says:

    Great wall. love the colours, and the careful randomness of the parallel brick pattern. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thanks, Sallyann! Love “careful randomness”, its probably one of the awful facets of gentrification / prettification. I used to generate pseudo-random numbers at work and I had other problems too. A 🙂

      Like

  5. paula graham says:

    You are very good at imagining the ‘other’ side of things , as well portrayed in this shot above.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Paula, good of you to say so, thank you. Especially with a shot like this, which lacks a horizon and any external reference, I think it always worthwhile to look at it “every which way”, to see if anything unseen appears – I used to do this with colour slides too – in fact this picture started life as a slide >>> slides and slideshows seem a very long time ago now! A 🙂

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

