PEOPLE 203 – DEATH OF A PIANIST (MONO)

 

 

Death of a pianist
.
Gravestone of an accomplished pianist, on the outskirts of Bristol; 22 Oct 2014.

The grave of Paul, a good friend, with his penchant for the piano reflected in the keyboard across his stone’s top.  Was he artistic?  Oh yes, most certainly, but he was also one of the sharpest and most intelligent people in the non-Arts world that I’ve ever met – as well as being something of a rarity these days, a really expert senior manager.

For our sins, he and I were analysing bulk Social Services data, but the ace up our sleeves was a software programme called SPSS, the Statistical Package for the Social Sciences, a world leader, and simply a delight to use when unravelling complex data situations.

And an enduring memory of Paul, on being presented with the latest difficult task I had to programme my way through, was of him sitting in front of his computer, raring to go, and rubbing his hands together saying “I love SPSS problems!”.

A friend much missed – and a memorial reflecting the kind of imagination that he would have very much approved of.  Maybe he designed it, that would not surprise me in the least.

D700 with 24-120 Nikkor at 24mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Low Key 2 preset.

.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

14 Responses to PEOPLE 203 – DEATH OF A PIANIST (MONO)

  1. poppytump says:

    Unique . A lovely tribute Adrian . Good friends are never forgotten . Surprising how the smallest memories of times spent together can leap into our minds and bring them back close to us in some way once more .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. krikitarts says:

    What an eloquent tribute to a friend, Adrian. I’m certain he would deeply approve.

    Like

  3. What a wonderful memorial stone! I love how you’ve photographed and processed the image. I can feel how much you miss him! Our memories of lost loved ones are sometimes a double-edged sword. Funnily enough I am friends with a lot of musicians who are software developers/IT managers for their day jobs!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Maybe your friends need emotional release from the toil of IT – or maybe being creative people they revel in the creativity of both worlds. I’m retired now, and the only thing I definitely miss from my old job (apart from the money! 🙂 ) is the intellectual challenge of manipulating and analysing huge sets of data – I loved thinking my way through those problems and then constructing the code that carried out the required analyses.

      And you’re right, I do miss him, he was someone I liked, admired and very much respected.

      I’m glad you like the image – thank you! Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. paula graham says:

    Moving photo and tribute. The light on your subject makes the photo sing.

    Like

  5. Sallyann says:

    Praise indeed. 🙂
    Sharp, intelligent, and an expert senior manager. A very rare combination at any time.
    Memories to treasure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dina says:

    Paul would have enjoyed this post very much. What a lovely tribute to your friend. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

