SOMERSET LEVELS 211 – TWO WOMEN SITTING IN THE SUN (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

Two women sitting in the sun
.
Two women, sitting in the sun, outside the Somerset & Dorset Inn, on Burnham-On-Sea’s main street; 6 Mar 2015.

We’d had a good pub lunch in Burnham, and were getting up to leave.  My camera had been in my bag during the meal but I took it out in case there were any more images to be found along Burnham’s main drag.  And I looked up and saw this.

Lighting up is not allowed in England’s public houses, and so these two smokers, in thick coats to ward off the decided chill of that breezy, early March day, were enjoying their cigarettes sitting on a bench outside in the street.

The picture is in three parts, which give it considerable depth.

First, inside the window, the pub’s tables and chairs gently catch the light.

Then, behind the furniture and not lit by the window’s light, the inside wall of the pub is dark.

Lastly, four windows give views of the town’s High Street – can I call this a quadriptych???  Anything to give this blog a little class.  The three smaller windows show relatively restrained amounts of detail, but the larger window discloses more things than you can shake a stick at – including the main street, a side street, and some interior detail in The Emporium, the shop across the road.

Other little gems of English life I can regale non-Brits with?  Well the white lines that are disappearing off down the side street are in fact bright yellow, as a warning that parking is forbidden there at all times.  And if you look very carefully at the enlarged version of this image, you can just see that the litter bin beside the ladies bears a tasteful little notice warning dogs that they should have their bowel movements elsewhere – ah, Merrie England!

So, in view of all this other data, I’ve restored the colours of the women’s dyed locks because these two are the subject here – we are looking at them, covertly I must admit, sitting amidst many facets of the local world.

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 16-35 Nikkor at 35mm; 400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Low Key 2 preset and selectively restoring colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

2 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 211 – TWO WOMEN SITTING IN THE SUN (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sallyann says:

    As is often the case, I do a lot of my blog reading on my phone walking to and from work where often the lighting on the screen is not the best for viewing pictures.
    I paused my feet for a few moments to see the bigger picture in order to find the two ladies. 🙂
    The colour restoration works well to hold the attention for a little while on your chosen subject. 😀
    My five days of self-imposed black and white were useful after all. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Looking at blogs walking to and from work??? I’m not a phone person, I certainly don’t want a life forever consulting my mobile phone, its simply there for emergencies. I do daydream and I do enjoy snoozes, but otherwise I’m right in the here and now.

      Oh I admire you for your “colour-free stint”. And if nothing else it was good experience, something which, although you may not be aware of it, is now a part of you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

