WALES 16 – ABERAERON 10 (MONO)

 

 

Aberaeron 10
.
Ornamental pavement, Aberaeron, Ceredigion; 24 Sept 2014.

An abstract image.  There is no horizon or other source of context, and no clue as to scale.  If I’d not told you what it portrays, you might have been hard pressed to guess – these could almost be the impenetrable scales of some harsh and armoured reptilian.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Yellowed 2 preset and adding a selenium tone; rotated 90 degrees clockwise.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to WALES 16 – ABERAERON 10 (MONO)

  1. LensScaper says:

    You are right – I never would have guessed, although I am slowly starting to de-code this. A great abstract Adrian

    Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    Oh, I like the concept of the Divine Right of…The Creator of the Image! Ansel Adams would approve, and so would many others of us who look at Something and visualize…whatever we do, and work our art accordingly, to share our visions with others. Oh, and by the way, I’d love to meet you and Sallyan in the coffee shop for a suitably-scaly cappuccino (maybe with a fortification of a similarly-suitable single malt).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Even after you telling me I still don’t see it. Whatever, bud. Interesting all the same. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thing is, remember its been rotated 90 degrees clockwise – undo that rotation and look again – its just little ovoid or discoid pebbles set in the ground (sidewalk) to form a pattern. 🙂

      Like

  4. paula graham says:

    most unusual …I like it.

    Like

  5. Sallyann says:

    I see the pavement too now that you’ve told us… a little easier in the eyes than on the feet I should think. 🙂
    But why a harsh and armoured reptile.? why not grass heads or seed pods waiting for the breeze? 🙂
    Oooh, or layers of coffee or chocolate beans, waiting to be ground down to drink… Or make cakes. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Why? W H Y ????? Because its me, that’s why! And its not only you who are challenging The Divine Right Of Fatman, as you will perceive and I trust take a moment to cogitate upon, Ma’am, ’tis Gem from Across The Pond too – I feel like An Oppressed Mass … but I just don’t know where to find one! … 😦 ….. but I shall fight you both in the cake shops, in the fancy shops that sell all those silly greetings cards and in the knitting shops too … and I shall enlist the help of a Harsh and Armoured Reptile … and we shall never surrender while Englishmen and Harsh And Armoured Reptiles draw breath! (Can’t find an appropriate smiley but do hope you catch my drift, Ma’am)

      Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      And now I find the Most Esteemed Lady From Across The Pond was in fact commenting on quite another post altogether and so I am discomfited, Ma’am, and see no other way forward than to ponder my imminent dereliction (: !

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sallyann says:

        So?
        In plain English (and shorter words) the harsh reptilian gives way to the coffee beans in the cake shop? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          I say, that English is rather plain, isn’t it, very unembellished even if I do say so – I mean, well, couldn’t you manage some emphasis, italicisation or curlicues? But yes, if you must say it so baldly … the harsh reptilian does give way … to the coffee beans … in the damned (oh!!!) coffee shop … 😦

          Liked by 1 person

    • krikitarts says:

      Really like your grass heads and/or seed pods analogy, Sallyann!

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Malin H says:

    Excellent image, my friend!
    I always prefer not to know… so I can use my imagination. :))

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

