PEOPLE 202 – ARTISTE (MONO + COLOUR)

 

 

Artiste
.
A young friend of our’s, after a stage performance; 1 Mar 2015.

She is still wearing some of her stage make up, but the bright white of her face is simply due to intentional overexposure during post-capture processing.  I recently rambled on about the use of pure white (and black) in images – you can find that harangue here.

Click onto this image to open a larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 105mm Nikkor; 3200 ISO; Dfine 2; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Holga preset and selectively restoring colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

8 Responses to PEOPLE 202 – ARTISTE (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Alabaster skin! You nailed it!
    xxxATP

    Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    I really like the eyes in this one… but am finding the colour on her mouth distracting. 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, the eyes have it (ohhhh! 🙂 ) >>> but reality takes a sudden hit with you asking me to remove the only bit of colour in an image!!! Never thought I’d see the day ….

      I do see what you mean about the pink being a distraction, but for me it works, it helps give the image that little bit of theatre and unreality that I like. A 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The over-exposed skin works really effectively as it makes the eyes – and therefore the great expression – pop and engage.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Laura, you’re right. The original shot has bright red bows in her hair, and after I’d cropped then out the eyes assumed much greater prominence, and I’ve remained with that crop. And yes, if her face had not been burnt out (photographically speaking!), the detail of the skin would also have lessened the eyes’ impact. Thanks for your input! Adrian

      Like

  4. Malin H says:

    I really like her expression, great capture!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

