SOMERSET LEVELS 209 – THE RISING SUN ALONG HURN DROVE (MONO + COLOUR)

 

.

The rising sun along Hurn Drove
.
The rising sun lights a willow along Hurn Drove, on Ash Moor, to the northwest of Polsham; 28 Oct 2014.

Early morning, driving slowly in shelter and shadow, travelling through a world of grey.  

But as I turned out onto Hurn Drove, the upper reaches of Our Star broke the horizon and shades of gold were all around.

Click onto the photo to view a larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 6400 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Low Key 1 preset and selectively restoring colour.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 209 – THE RISING SUN ALONG HURN DROVE (MONO + COLOUR)

  1. Sallyann says:

    No matter how cold the morning is, the rising sunshine always manages to spread a warm glow in its path. 🙂

    Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    Oh, my. It’s a tribute to your preparedness and your penchant for driving slowly that you were able to make your own the golden light that graced your moment, and I love your reference to Our Star rather than using its conventional monicker. May I use that at some time, too?

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gary, my friend, you are my respected friend, and as such you are very welcome to use anything of mine that you like, at absolutely any time – words or images, just feel free!

      Yes, Our Star, well that’s how I see it. I feel close to natural things. A good (and very intelligent) friend died a few years back and, towards the end, he told me that he’d ceased being impressed by anything but natural things, and was impressed most of all by the incredible discoveries being made by astronomy, in the realms beyond the Earth, and I understand just what he meant, and agree with him. So that’s what it is, Our Star, and for me there is woven into that name not only the hard science that you and I are very solidly into, but also considerable spirituality and emotion.

      I didn’t know you know about my penchant for slow driving! The Levels back roads are often deserted and so I go down them at a snail’s pace, keeping one weather eye on the rear view mirror, but otherwise looking all around very hard. Thanks for your thoughts, my friend! Adrian

      Like

  3. I like it even more when I enlarge it. The leaves are so delicate. The bark, so rough and tough. Love it!
    Hope you’re doing well. Nose-wise and otherwise. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Gemma, I’m glad this gets to you, thank you! Nose-wise I’m doing incredibly well, its healing incredibly well. Otherwise I’ve hit a snag or two but am hanging in there. I hope you’re good. ATP xxx 🙂

      Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Oh, that’s beautiful, Adrian. I love everything about it: the bronze and silver colours; the texture and lighting of the bark; the delicate leaves catching the light; the composition. Yes – huge like!

    By the way, my browser bar entitles this post ‘somerset levels 209 canada geese mono’.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      M, I’m very glad you like this – and the more so because of your photographic leanings. And I shall be over to give your PC (please tell me those aren’t your partner’s initials!) a hefty kick right up the browser bar, darlin’ >>> but actually this is a very interesting phenomenon >>> because this post was going to have that title but I then changed it to what is there now – so your browser is showing the deleted title >>> so the message is not to do that, but to open another New Post and start from scratch! We live and learn!

      Oh and I was given the dvd of “Mr Turner” and think it wonderful, certainly an addition to my collection which I’ll watch over and over again – in its way, very enthusing and inspiring. A 🙂

      Like

      • Meanderer says:

        I’m pleased you enjoyed the film. I haven’t seen it yet but will wait until the DVD comes down in price a little. I was surprised that it was snubbed at the awards ceremonies, but there you go. Mike Leigh is wonderfully unconventional 🙂

        Like

  5. paula graham says:

    Wonderful light there in deepest Somerset..here in the Netherlands we have same conditions, although I go for the late stuff, easier I find!!! ( just lazy)

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad you like it! Well I still turn out for early mornings, maybe there’s something of the romantic in me, I like being about in the early hours, it reminds me of many exciting forays and expeditions many, many years ago – but the years are the thing >>> the earlies are getting more of a strain as age creeps up. Still, I shall do some while I still can! 🙂

      Like

  6. athyfoto says:

    Trees . . . . . just can’t get enough of them. And doesn’t that golden light just lift your soul when you see it? Glad you were there to capture it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Malin H says:

    Now this is love at first sight… if you ask me. Wonderful, absolutely wonderful image.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      That’s very good to hear, my dear friend – thank you! >>> and love at first sight is just the way to go – impetuosity is all!!! And since I know you like trees very, very much, you’d better give your monocle an especially good polish – make it positively sparkle with anticipation! – and then stare fixedly at your In Box …. 😀 ……

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

