BRISTOL 86 – AND IN THE BEGINNING WAS THE CAT 4 (MONO)

 

 

And in the beginning was the cat 4

.
Our friends’ cat, a favourite subject of mine; 1 Mar 2015.

She climbed up onto the arm of the sofa and spent a lot of time with her back to us, wagging her tail.  Then she turned around, the bright light streaming over her from the right, and gazed impassively at us for sometime.

I find cats very beautiful and never tire of photographing them – perhaps the title of this short series of posts sums up my feelings towards them.  Something spiritual, perhaps?  Quite possibly.

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

The earlier shots in this series can be found here, here and here.

D700 with 105mm Nikkor used wide open; 3200 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Full Spectrum Inverse preset.

 .
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

18 Responses to BRISTOL 86 – AND IN THE BEGINNING WAS THE CAT 4 (MONO)

  1. What a beautiful cat; personality plus, great capture, Adrian. Really fun to draw this beauty!

    Like

  2. alexraphael says:

    Fab stuff. Beautifully captured.

    Like

  3. beautiful capture

    Like

  4. paula graham says:

    I think she is trying to tell you that she is boss in the place. Wagging tail of cat is not the same as wagging tail of dog, no doubt you know. I remember the other cat photos. Nice and flattering photo of cat!

    Like

  5. lauramacky says:

    aww beautiful shot 🙂

    Like

  6. krikitarts says:

    That’s a nice challenge, a white cat on a white sofa with a white background. The lighting is perfect to bring out the cat’s eyes and facial features, almost like a charcoal drawing. Great portrait!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Adrian… when I clicked on your photo, my McAfee security program gave me a warning that yours was a risky site… it has also given me the same warning for a couple of other photography blogs… I am not sure why, of course; this has not happened before.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh that’s a surprise! I have no idea as to why, Henrietta – and the more so since my site is of course hosted by WordPress. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, it was to me also… I have asked a member from a different blog (that gave me the same McAfee warning for her site), to please let me know if she learns anything; perhaps it is my PC, tho when I went to the Word Press forum board, it does show problems with McAfee security issues in the past. If I learn anything more, I shall let you know. H.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Sallyann says:

    She looks very majestic sitting on her throne, I wonder which one of you is really the subject. 🙂

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

