PEOPLE 201 – AFFECTION 2 (MONO)

 

 

Affection 2
.

Our friend and her cat; 1 Mar 2015.

We went to visit our friends, a truly lovely family, and, as usual, I slouched back indolently in an armchair with this damned great camera and lens perched on my paunch, enjoying the moment.

Their front room has a bay window with translucent panels that looks out onto the street and, as often happens, the light in that room was diffuse and gorgeous.

Things caught my eye but I was too slow with the camera.  Then their friendly cat got up on the arm of the sofa, and sat there, contentedly wagging her tail.  She enjoys human company, probably for the sounds, and she sits or lies with us for long periods.  An open fire was an especial draw for her on that chilly afternoon.

Suddenly our friend reached out to stroke the cat and murmur something to her, and my camera came up and caught this single frame.  What do I like about it?  Well, of course, the interaction, there’s eye contact there, and also some kind of, if not friendship, then calm familiarity – these two living beings know and trust each other, at the very least.

I like the way our friend is leaning across the sofa, introducing a dynamic that heads up towards upper left, at right angles to the cat’s gaze.  And then there are the sidelit curls and textures in her hair – and a striped sweater that is crying out for black and white photography!

The occasion was good too because, having had medical dressings on my face, it was the first time I’d used a camera in seven weeks or more, and it was very good to “get back behind a lens” again.

Click onto this image to see a larger version in a separate window.

Affection 1, also of these two but with maybe more surreal overtones, can be found here.

D700 with 105mm Nikkor, used wide open; 3200 ISO; Dfine 2; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Full Dynamic Smooth preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

12 Responses to PEOPLE 201 – AFFECTION 2 (MONO)

  1. Sallyann says:

    How’s the nose?

    Like

  2. It reminds me of some of the b&w photos I have of the 50’s. I like it. Very nostalgic. 😍👍

    Like

  3. paula graham says:

    so did she by the looks of things but in a slightly different way!

    Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    I can almost feel the rumble of the purr!

    Like

  5. bananabatman says:

    This really shows the value of keeping the camera handy Adrian. I’d probably be shot by Dee if I did it, but this is an excellent result, showing how wise you are. A great capture.

    I’m sorry, that I have been so ‘out of touch’ recently, and not realised that you have had an enforced break from your camera. I hope you are getting better now. Dave.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Dave, I’m glad you like it, thank you – I am extraordinarily lucky in having great licence with that family, I’ve been photographing them for many years, so that having me sitting there with a camera is not at all new. What about having a go at explaining to Dee that she may have to suffer for your art … 😉 ….

      Yes, I’m very much better now thanks – and looking forward to Spring! Adrian

      Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

