PEOPLE 199 – THIS MAN IS PHOTOGRAPHING YOU (MONO)

 

 

This man is photographing you!
.

Selfie with spiral staircase; 5 Nov 2014.

This is a black and white version of a previously posted colour image.  Basically, both shots show me photographing my reflection in the window of a shop that is empty save for a metallic spiral staircase.  The earlier version, shown below (and presented in this post, which has more context), shows more of me and less of the stairway, and is imbued with a strong brown hue.

In this mono version, the staircase is given more prominence and I’m edged out to the side, such that I appear to be sneaking a shot of you around the edge of the image’s frame – sneaking a shot of you from out of a window perhaps.  To me, this second version is starker, colder, more in the raw perhaps – more in terms of the harsh, hard light out on the street maybe.

Which – if any – of these two images do you prefer?

Clicking onto either image will open a slightly larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 70mm; 640 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Architectural preset.

.

Selfie with a spiral staircase
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

34 Responses to PEOPLE 199 – THIS MAN IS PHOTOGRAPHING YOU (MONO)

  1. eugenioobber says:

    no doubts, the mono version! very nice!

    Like

  2. bananabatman says:

    Undoubtedly the Mono version Adrian, and not because it shows less of you. 🙂 It is a beautifully balanced composition, at least to my eyes, and I love the bold, stark presentation.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LensScaper says:

    Definitely I prefer the Mono – the composition is bold and it work. I love that one eye and the hat so close to the edge. Great interpretation, Adrian.

    Like

  4. Sallyann says:

    Hello again. 🙂
    Is that still the same train driver’s hat. 😀

    Like

  5. bluebrightly says:

    My eyes played a trick on the first one – it looked to me like the man was facing away. There’s a lot of mystery there and ambiguity, and I vote for that one.

    Like

  6. Meanderer says:

    I think I ducked out of the way just in time 🙂

    Although I like the brown tones of the original, I have to say the mono is my favourite. I like the way part of you is in the picture – as you say, it is as if you have suddenly appeared in the scene, out of the shadows, ready to take the shot.

    I also prefer where you are positioned – on the right, with the stairs sweeping up to the middle and towards the right hand side. I like the grittiness and harder edge. I also think the light on the side of your face is more pronounced and works better.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Good points, M, thank you – and I agree with you completely. And me emerging suddenly out of the shadows? – you’re playing my tune …

      And my nose appears at least to be healing very well, such that I am having thoughts about pressing large and lumpy cameras to my face again. A

      Like

  7. Sonali Dalal says:

    Hello 🙂 Wonderful light!

    Like

  8. I like the first one better but I like the second hat better. 😉❤️👍

    Like

  9. krikitarts says:

    Mono for me too, Adrian. there’s a lot more mystery and intrigue, as more is left to the imagination. Also, the bright reflections–especially the sharp one on the curved banister–add a lot to counterbalance the brightness of the main element’s side-lit visage.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Not for the first time, Gary – and I’m very sure not for the last time either! – I agree completely with what you’re saying. And, especially, I think your point about leaving things to the imagination is very true – it chimes in with what I was saying in a recent Talking Images post, about not lighting the whole image. Thanks for your considered thoughts, my friend! Adrian

      Like

  10. paula graham says:

    One of several good selfies you have produced. Love the processing tool

    Like

  11. I prefer the composition in the monochrome version. The fact the figure is almost out of frame creates more intrigue and is, as such, more engaging.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. athyfoto says:

    My preference would be the mono version although I would like to see a slightly warmer look in the shadows.

    Like

  13. Adrian, the mono has it hands down – not even close for me. There is intrigue and mystery surrounding the mono but for me this disappears with the colour. Also I like the sweep of the railing on the staircase, it adds further. The second is just a bit flat my tastes, not enough going on…….Well you did ask for my opinion, MM 🍀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Yes, John, I did ask for your opinion – and for everyone else’s too – and, sincerely, I welcome them all. I’m glad the mono gets to you – thank you. I like them both but, if I’m honest, the mono gets more to me too. I felt good about the colour version and I think it was well received but, looking at it, I started thinking about mono – let’s face it, I always start thinking about mono! – and I’m more pleased with this result. Thank you for your thoughts! Adrian

      Like

  14. Sue Vincent says:

    Love the monochrome version!

    Like

  15. Malin H says:

    I think you already know which one of them I like the most 🙂 The black & white is the one for me! I love it!

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

