BRISTOL 83 – SHADOW OF A FOOTBRIDGE

 

 

Shadow of a footbridge
.
Shadow of a footbridge in Bristol’s Castle Park; 7 Oct 2014.

The ground here is a dark tarmac path that runs below the bridge.

Lynn Wohlers (bluebrightly.wordpress.comrecently mentioned tension in photos to me, and maybe there’s some here.  I find my eyes being attracted up to the bright leaf, but then being drawn back down along the various lines towards lower right – only to be attracted back up to the leaf once more.

Canon G11 PowerShot at 28mm (equivalent); 200 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

20 Responses to BRISTOL 83 – SHADOW OF A FOOTBRIDGE

  1. bananabatman says:

    The shadows could have stood alone Adrian, but the leaf really makes it. Yes, my eyes skip about as well, but they really enjoyed the journey. 🙂

    Like

  2. bluebrightly says:

    It’s been a busy week at work so as usual, I’m playing catch up on Saturday. I appreciate the mention. Yes, a lot of tension here in the perspective. Sometimes I think about the adage we were taught in art school that there should be a particular focal point, and everything in the frame should lead your eyes around to that focal point. That’s certainly satisfying. But there are times when images that make your eyes jump back and forth are just so interesting! And they probably reflect modern life better, too! 🙂

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I suppose with regard to the focal point thing that every image is different, such that it must be thought about individually. Certainly both 1 and 1+ focal points are capable of working in various situations. I tend to shy away from hard and fast rules that others feel must be applied, whatever they are, I just don’t think art works that way – and I’m sure you don’t either. Its more organic, isn’t it, its the slight inklings and the gut feelings – and the thinkings of the unthinkable too! Good to talk with you, Lynn! Adrian 🙂

      Like

  3. Sonali Dalal says:

    This is so beautiful!!! Your eyes are fantastic!

    Like

  4. Great composition, Adrian. Love how the lines lead you through the photograph. Typically, I see left to right and then down but this had me work from the bottom-right to top-left. Not sure why…perhaps the stark contrast, but really enjoyed this one.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Brandon, that’s very good to hear – thank you! Yes, this image has my eyes working strangely too – the siting of the leaf (which is in its actual position) adds to the effect I think. Adrian

      Like

  5. Meanderer says:

    That little green leaf is the icing on the shadowy cake.

    Like

  6. LensScaper says:

    This would have been a great image without the leaf, but it goes up a whole notch with it. Well seen, Adrian.

    Like

  7. krikitarts says:

    I see piano keys!

    Like

  8. Sallyann says:

    My eyes jumped about too, quite disturbingly so really. What little concentration I can usually muster was shot to pieces. What is even more unusual though is I chose to cover the leaf with my thumb, taking out the only colour on offer and found that I quite enjoyed the piano key effect of the shadows. :-/

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

