STANTON DREW 31 – IN THE CHURCHYARD 2

 

 

In the churchyard
.
In the churchyard at Stanton Drew, on a summer’s day; 1 Aug 2013.

My ongoing love affair with this beautiful and undisturbed rural churchyard.

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 200 ISO; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

28 Responses to STANTON DREW 31 – IN THE CHURCHYARD 2

  1. bluebrightly says:

    It’s great when you find a place like that – and churchyards can be rich with undisturbed, slightly unkempt life. This is beautiful.

    Like

  2. krikitarts says:

    Rather a departure from your usual fare, Adrian, and it’s good that you’re offering a side of you that it seems we seldom get to see. Or maybe you just post these little lovelies when life has me way too busy to devote any time at all to following others, let alone to post any new ones of my own. Whatever, I like this very much.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Now then, Gary, this is interesting! Because, for a start, I have a feeling that, in terms of Likes, this is the most popular picture I’ve ever posted; and now here you are – you who know me reasonably well, I think – saying that this shows a side of me that is seldom in view. How interesting!

      I’m not conscious of having a seldom seen side and, really, to me, this is just another image – a lucky capture I do think – but, really, no different to than many other pictures that see the light of day here. Well well!

      Anyway, I’m very glad you like it, my friend! Adrian πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Fabulous capture, bud. ❀️

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Thank you, my friend! Loved the pic of your bandaged arm – Return Of The Mummy >>> or should that be Mommy????? Also was looking at Godfather 2’s portrayal of the early days of America’s Italian community, which made me think of you. Hope your arm is improving – is the feeling in your hand any stronger yet? Take care! ATP xxx

      Like

  4. Meanderer says:

    Oh, utterly beautiful. Love everything about this one: the focus on the far teasel, the light on the butterfly, the bokeh. Just lovely. One question: why did you wait so long to post it?!

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I’m glad you like it – great stuff >>> thanks! Why so long? Well, I have lots of images sitting around, and in some cases its a matter of something just catching my eye as I go through the directories, deleting files to free up disk space. Also I’m a firm believer in leaving images alone, not immediately seizing upon them to make something of them – bit like letting fine wines mature >>> only many of these “fine wines” are eventually deleted and excreted! And of course I’m not taking any photos at the moment, and so looking back through past years has increased a bit. Thank you again. A πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. paula graham says:

    Such an important wildlife plant , the teasel..so pretty and yet…people regard them as ‘weeds’..some men’s weeds are other men’s wildflowers. Lovely photo you made of this scene.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Glad you like it, thank you! I’m not a gardener, my “little bit of England” is a “wildlife garden” simply because I do very little to it, and leave the quite abundant wildlife to look after themselves, which they do admirably.

      But a core belief involves not thinking of anything as a weed – that’s a purely human term, used when Nature thwarts our tiny gardening ventures. A plant is a plant, end of story.

      I suppose my “gardening” is confined to stopping the brambles and (mostly naturally sown) trees from entirely swallowing up the garden’s open space – and cutting the (quite rough) grass. We have a wonderful grove of Cowslips, which are starting to take over – but who minds being taken over by them??? A

      Like

  6. WOW! Just beautiful!

    Like

  7. Carrie says:

    This is so special, Adrian. I love the bokeh, especially where it mets the butterfly. The colors too! Simply splendid.

    Like

  8. A dreamy butterfly image πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Jewels says:

    Oh… this is so lovely!

    Like

  10. Sallyann says:

    Beautiful. πŸ™‚
    Very very pretty. πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Beautifully serene image. You have handled the lighting to perfection.

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

