ARCHIVE 124 – LANDSCAPE NEAR NEWQUAY (MONO)

 

.
cor1_095FullContrastandStructure2
.
Landscape near Newquay, Cornwall; 23 Oct 2012.

The lines of windblown trees first attracted me to this scene, and then there were the partly seen house and the bold, dark lines of the field boundaries.  Letterbox is an ideal format here because it more or less parallels these boundaries.

I’ve used a pale vignette to suggest mistiness around the frame edges.

Click onto the image to see en enlarged version in a separate window.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 300mm; 400 ISO; converted to mono with Silver Efex Pro 2, using the Full Contrast and Structure preset as a starting point.
.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

34 Responses to ARCHIVE 124 – LANDSCAPE NEAR NEWQUAY (MONO)

  1. bluebrightly says:

    Perfect processing – in every way – not just the vignette, but the softness overall, the tone, the size (as you noted). It fits.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Meanderer says:

    I love this, Adrian. It reminds me of a pen and ink drawing – something I probably said the first time I saw it. Wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. krikitarts says:

    I find myself attracted to windblown trees wherever I find them, which is not very often these days. These are wonderful and your choices of the format and the vignette are, for me, spot on.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. paula graham says:

    There is so much to admire about your photo, Adrian, everyone has said it already and I just add my voice to the chorus of admiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dave says:

    Yes, those trees really caught my attention, but there is so much more. Layers upon layers of detail and wonderful patterns. What a strong image – really one of my favorites this year.

    I like the vignette- it is very faint. My dad used to do that as a way of focusing attention toward the heart of the picture. Even when it was nearly undetectable, it worked. I have never used Silver Efex; does it really give you superior control over an image compared to Lightroom?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Hello, Dave! Thank you for your good words! I think I remember that you are a teacher of photography – if you would like any of my images to use in your classes, I’m very happy for you to have them. Would you like me to email you a full quality of this one, for instance?

      I’ve never used Lightroom and so cannot give you a definitive answer (I use Nikon’s Capture NX2 as my base software processor). But I do know that SEP2 can be used as a Lightroom plug in, in fact a friend of mine is giving a tutorial on just that topic – would you like me to get you his contact details?

      SEP2 is a world leader in black and white work, and I think its true that, while its effects can be replicated in some other software packages, they are much easier to deploy in SEP2. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

      • dave says:

        Adrian, yes, I am a teacher and have two photography classes. It is very kind of you to offer a copy of your image for the students to use in class, so kind I am not sure how to answer. Let me think about that and get back with you tomorrow – I’ll reply on this thread. And thank you, really!

        About SEP2, I just discovered it is now a Google product/service. Do you have any concerns about their user agreement allowing them to use your images? I hear this is troubling some photographers.

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Yes, SEP2 was originally developed by Nik Software, an offshoot of Nikon, but then Nik was bought by Google. Google have added to the software suite of which SEP2 is a part but, really, the Google additions are of nothing like the quality / usefulness as the original programs. And I have reached That Happy State In Life where I have no problems with anyone using my images. My fundamental, gut-wrenching enjoyment and satisfaction come from creating and producing images, and I feel very fortunate in having some facility in that direction. And if others want to “steal” / make use of my work without acknowledging it, well Life is simply too short to worry about that. And we are not in the days of film, no one is stealing a unique colour transparency from me, they are merely taking a copy of an original that stays here with me. Adrian

          Liked by 1 person

          • dave says:

            Thanks for your thoughts on that, Adrian. I share many of them, certainly with respect to other individuals. Maybe I’ll try it. They aren’t going to find anything on my blog worth taking advantage of, anyway. 🙂

            By the way, my email address is snowschuler.dave@gmail.com. If you are still willing, send me an image of your choice to share with the kids. It would have to be a jpg or tiff copy – they can’t read raws. If you send an undedited version, then I could let them edit it and share with you what sort of vision they had for your image.

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              Right, OK, an unedited image of my choice for you to share with your kids, to see how they would edit / process it. I will get going on that, and if you’d like further images at any time, please do let me know.

              Due to size constraints of images attached to emails, I imagine it will be a full quality jpeg – but I’ll investigate using tiffs too, as they are more fully editable.

              Would an idea be for me to send you both an unedited version and my final version (maybe on separate emails due to size constraints), so that your kids can compare their’s with mine at the end of the exercise?

              Also, if you send me some of their resulting work, I could make it into a post on FATman Photos? Is that an idea? No names need be divulged, it could all be anonymous. Or you could make them into a post on your blog. Adrian

              Liked by 1 person

              • dave says:

                Great ideas, Adrian. JPG is probably best since we haven’t discussed other formats in the class, and getting a copy of your final rendition would be really helpful – they can compare results.

                Love the idea of putting their pics online, too. I think they should go on yours site because it will be your image. Then maybe I can reblog it to mine? I’ve never done that, but could figure it out. This is exciting, Adrian!

                Like

                • Adrian Lewis says:

                  Very glad you like the ideas, Dave! Jpegs are fine. I already have a couple of photos in mind.

                  Putting the kids’ work on my site is fine. Reblogging is ok tho I never expect it to work. As I type this I can see a reblog icon up in the black menu bar of my blog, and know that reblogging facilities are available on WordPress’s Reader and Freshly Pressed facilities (at least) too.

                  You get the post that you want to reblog and press the icon. A small box appears in which you can add text / comments to the reblog. Then you make sure that reblog is going to the desired blog, and you set it going. Adrian

                  Liked by 1 person

  6. Malin H says:

    I just have to look at this one again. I was here earlier today and I just love it. Looks just like a charcoal sketch.

    I adore it… this image is an image that one can look at over and over again and never get tired of. Splendid image!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This just works soooo well in b/w. Lovely!

    Like

  8. Sallyann says:

    Nice, it looks like a charcoal or pencil drawing. 🙂

    Like

  9. SAN_jeet says:

    Its simple but beautiful

    Like

  10. Wonderful – great balance and I love the zig-zag of the hedges 🙂

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

