PEOPLE 198 – BODY LANGUAGE

 

 

Body language
.

OK, so which is the precocious one??? – youngsters on a farm in the far west of Kenya; Apr 1979.

As I’ve mentioned before, I was over in the far west of Kenya – around Akala, Kisumu and Lake Victoria – in 1979, visiting my friend’s father’s farm.  I was an out and out birder in those days, and I was in this area looking for birds only found, in Kenya at least, in the very far west – which birds? >>> Eastern Grey Plantain Eater, Brown Twinspot, Shoebill, Splendid Starling and many more.

I was a curiosity anyway of course, because these far western areas were way off the usual tourist trail, but in particular I attracted droves of children, which was fine with me as I love kids – but not so fine when I was very quietly trying to spot rare and shy birds in dense vegetation.  Ever humorous, my companion let it be known that I liked eating children, but even that had little effect.

Anyway, above are three of this farm’s throng, and which is the forward, lively, cheeky one? (First prize: an evening with me in a top class Bristol restaurant; second prize: two evenings with me in …).

Let’s start with the non-contenders.  They’re seated neatly on either side, arms and legs in, respectful expressions – as if they’re in school maybe, or church.

And between them … limbs insolently wide, provocative, questioning, a slight smile, head forward, big eyes looking up … “Its me … and I’m not afraid of you and your camera … so what are you going to do about that then?! … “.

And after 36 years I can still remember her – always up at the front of the crowd of kids, always questioning, laughing, clamouring for attention – a wonderful character, a lot of fun.  But I wonder if these three made it through to adulthood, life in the Third World can hold uncertainties after all.  I hope they are all fine – they’ll be around 40 now, probably with children of their own.  Time – or, as a friend perceptively puts it, “the conveyor belt” – moves on.

Click onto the image to see a larger version in a separate window.

OM-1 with 50mm Zuiko; Agfa CT18 colour slide, rated at 64 ISO; Dfine 2; Color Efex Pro 4.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

6 Responses to PEOPLE 198 – BODY LANGUAGE

  1. bluebrightly says:

    I imagine she did make it – yes, what strength in those eyes and body! Beautiful color, and a good story, too.

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      I very much hope you’re right, my friend, let’s hope that all thee of them are hanging on in there. And the colour? Well, tweaked from an ancient colour transparency by another favourite software package – Color Efex Pro 4 – wouldn’t be without it! Thank you again for all these comments, Lynn! Adrian

      Like

  2. Sallyann says:

    Wonderful picture. 🙂
    Of my three girls, Youngest Daughter would be the one sitting centre stage, Middle Daughter, the one on our left, sitting slightly back as to melt into the picture and Eldest Daughter, sitting to our right, upright in a ladylike position.
    The perfect picture. 😀

    Like

  3. karijeppesen says:

    …so wonderful, Adrian – the photo and the memory of it… (…smiling…)

    Like

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

