SOMERSET LEVELS 206 – LOOKING EASTWARDS ALONG TRIPPS DROVE (MONO)

 

 

Looking eastwards along Tripps Drove

.
Looking eastwards along Tripps Drove, on Godney Moor; 27 Nov 2014.

I was on my way home, heading back towards Wells and the road up over the Mendip Hills, after an early morning start.

I’d dropped into a friendly teashop for a take away third breakfast (or was it first lunch???) – anyway, thick ham and mustard sandwiches, piping hot coffee and a chunk of homemade fruitcake – Paradise was alive and well on the Somerset Levels!

And pulling off the narrow tarmac into a muddy field gate, I was shovelling down all this gorgeous grub I was delicately partaking of my sumptuous repast – and there was the pale road continuing on past two trees that were leaning away from each other; and closer at hand, to the right of the road, there was a pale patch in front of dark thickets.  This view caught my eye.

Click onto this image to see an enlarged version in a separate window.

D700 with 70-300 Nikkor at 155mm; 800 ISO; Silver Efex Pro 2, starting at the Sepia Landscape preset.
.
.
.

About Adrian Lewis
Photographer working in monochrome, colour and combinations of the two - with a great liking for all sorts of images, including Minimalism, landscapes, abstracts, soft colour, people, movement, nature - I like to be adventurous in my photography, trying new ideas and working in many genres. And I'm fond of Full English Breakfasts and Duvel golden ale, though not necessarily together.

29 Responses to SOMERSET LEVELS 206 – LOOKING EASTWARDS ALONG TRIPPS DROVE (MONO)

  1. Sallyann says:

    Now that you finally know all about the teddy bears, let me rephrase my original comment. …. 🙂
    The path in the picture looks like it goes off into the woods, but my imagination (knowing your love of food) says it’s not going anywhere scary out of sight, it’s possibly taking us off to a teddy bear’s picnic. 😀

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh god … I mean … oh good … but I bet the devil’s in the rephrasing! ….

      But no, you’re right, the path could be going to just that place and, thanks to Your Goodself, I shall never look at that path in the same way again! 🙂 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Superb! So moody and dark – I love it!

    Like

  3. Meanderer says:

    Wonderful image, Adrian. Love the path – it really draws one into the scene.

    Like

  4. Sallyann says:

    If you go down to the woods today…

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      What, WHAT!? Is it a car boot, tell me its not a car boot!!! Because something that I do feel a rather warm glow about is that, despite having been back in this country for decayeds (plagiarised from Spike Milligan) now, I have never been to a car boot, far less been offered for sale at one. A

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sallyann says:

        Oh no… Please tell me Spike Mlligan hasn’t infiltrated the teddy bear’s picnic and set up a car boot sale.
        And possibly worse than that… You’ve never heard of, let alone been to a teddy bear’s picnic before. (Shock horror)

        Like

        • Adrian Lewis says:

          Shock, horror probe, phew what a scorcher! says The Sun. Spike can do no wrong, those bears will just have to buy something – a bearskin rug, or are they rather outré these days?

          But I have heard of the teddy bears’ picnic and, in my cups – or was it my honey jars? – I’m sure I’ve been to one! 🙂

          Like

          • Sallyann says:

            Oh dear, you are showing all the signs of a miss spent youth again, 🙂 as with the little teapot, I see I’m going to have to educate you on the delicacies of picnicking with teddy bears. No mean feat here because somehow I have to put a tune in your head…
            Please tell me you’ve seen Dorothy and the other characters pacing along to “lions, and tigers, and bears.
            The first two lines of the song go along with the same pace with the stomp word in capitals … (low notes at first, slightly menacing) If YOU go DOWN in the WOODS to-DAY, you’d BETTER go IN dis-GUISE.
            (slightly higher notes)… if YOU go DOWN in the WOODS to-DAY, you’re SURE of a BIG sur-PRISE.
            Ok, now lighten the tone and pick up the the tempo, imagine a flute or recorder playing cheerful notes…
            For every bear that ever there was, will gather there for certain because…
            Back to the stomping tune again, but much more up-beat and cheerful..
            to-DAYS the DAY the TED-dy bears HAVE their picnic. (the word picnic would quite happily slide down a children’s garden slide with you on the “pic” and land as you jumped to to stand at the bottom on “nic”.
            Now come along… all together now…

            Like

            • Adrian Lewis says:

              Yes, well, there is that, but exactly who is Miss Spent? Someone past their prime?

              And as for “Please tell me you’ve seen Dorothy and the other characters pacing along to “lions, and tigers, and bears.”, well, really, the largest of gallic shrugs, which has only served to burst the seams of la brassiere de ma vieille grandmere, which I have lately taken to wearing both for sentimental reasons and because I’ve found it to be a wonderful desk tidy.

              Like

              • Sallyann says:

                Bing Crosby – The Teddy Bear’s Picnic (1950): http://youtu.be/IrvkHAxnjzI

                Like

                • Adrian Lewis says:

                  Well, I’m quite underwhelmed. But to be fair, and let’s face it, mediocre, substandard and in downright poor taste as FATman Photos may be, its always fair, I do like the image of the Decca vinyl record at the beginning of the link you’ve sent. It reminds me of the good old days. But as for Bing Crosby and the Teddy Bears Picnic … tell me .. because I think I can see an entrepreneurial opportunity here .. do you want to go into the emetics business? .. I mean, I could handle the spreadsheets, distribution and packaging … and you could be New Products Manager …

                  Like

  5. paula graham says:

    Wonderful photo, the light is just perfect and your processing top notch.

    Like

  6. richholschuh says:

    Amazing, Adrian. Thank you.

    Like

  7. Malin H says:

    Stunning. I can understand why this caught your eye.

    Like

  8. I think if the lighter area on the bottom right wasn’t there it would be too large an expanse of dark nothingness, so it is an important element of the image and helps stop it becoming lopsided in that way. So yes, I think it does provide balance. (As you can tell I am not formally educated on this but go by ‘the eye’). Hope the ramblings help. MM🍀

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Oh I’m the same as you, not formally educated at all but going “by eye” – I suppose its a case of looking at a scene and “knowing that there’s something there”. Often I have no idea about the details, just photographing something and discovering the details later; but here the useful details were apparent “at capture” – as current jargon has it.

      They’re not ramblings and they do help – thanks for your thoughts, MM! Adrian 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  9. Its the parting trees that does it, good spot, MM 🍀

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      MM, thank you very much! Yes, the parting trees. I’m never too certain about the concept of visual balance, but to me the lighter area at lower right “balances” (= reflects???) the main area of brightness higher up in the frame. Adrian

      Liked by 1 person

This blog has two pleasures for me - creating the images and hearing from you - so get your thoughts out to the world!

